Author Topic: RE: Generating a duplicate system?  (Read 1137 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xenoscepter

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • x
  • Posts: 228
  • Thanked: 10 times
RE: Generating a duplicate system?
« on: May 17, 2019, 08:18:05 PM »
If I want to generate a new game, but with the same system, how would I do that?

Is it even possible? If not, can I edit the file itself w/o going into the VB code?
 

Offline Father Tim

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1242
  • Thanked: 155 times
Re: RE: Generating a duplicate system?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2019, 08:37:01 PM »
I believe it is only possible with:

A)  Sol system
B)  one of the pre-made NPR home sytems
or
C)  the database password.
 
The following users thanked this post: xenoscepter

Offline xenoscepter

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • x
  • Posts: 228
  • Thanked: 10 times
Re: RE: Generating a duplicate system?
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2019, 09:14:59 PM »
@Father Tim

Thanks, mate!
 

Offline ZimRathbone

  • Commander
  • *********
  • Posts: 344
  • Thanked: 6 times
Re: RE: Generating a duplicate system?
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2019, 06:46:39 PM »
I believe it is only possible with:

A)  Sol system
B)  one of the pre-made NPR home sytems
or
C)  the database password.

And C is not really practical due to the number of links between different records (eg Stars, system bodies, populations, ruins, etc).  Several years ago I developed a series of scripts to do it, as a precursor to developing something to move entire games between versions as was possible in Starfire Assistant,  but it usually required manual correction even when just moving the physical items and debugging the errors could be a royal PITA  (remember that Steve is not there to help once you have adapted (ie corrupted) the database).  Getting the componentry in ship designs right was too much, so the project got put aside due to conflicting priorities (Small Children (tm))  and now there doesnt seem much point until after the C# version arrives. 
SlĂ inte,

Mike
 

Offline MarcAFK

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1875
  • Thanked: 86 times
  • ...it's so simple an idiot could have devised it..
Re: RE: Generating a duplicate system?
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2019, 12:21:01 AM »
Real stars has a database of systems, you can create any of those easily enough. I'm not sure how much of each is procedurally generated, the stars at least are the same.
" Why is this godforsaken hellhole worth dying for? "
". . .  We know nothing about them, their language, their history or what they look like.  But we can assume this.  They stand for everything we don't stand for.  Also they told me you guys look like dorks. "
"Stop exploding, you cowards.  "
 

Offline Father Tim

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1242
  • Thanked: 155 times
Re: RE: Generating a duplicate system?
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2019, 01:05:55 PM »
Real stars has a database of systems, you can create any of those easily enough. I'm not sure how much of each is procedurally generated, the stars at least are the same.

Real Stars has a database of stars only, not systems.  The planets, moons, asteroids, etc., are procedurally generated fresh for each game.
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55