Author Topic: This is just wrong  (Read 3151 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Charlie Beeler

  • Registered
  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1381
  • Thanked: 3 times
This is just wrong
« on: May 20, 2010, 01:32:53 PM »
Invaders popping up several million kilometers from their stable wormhole!!  First time it happenned they were in the middle of the wreckage from the first incursion.  This time they appear on top of Earth!!!  They wormhole has an active pick, and only one shows on the system map.  Either something is broken or the Invaders can appear anywhere within a system that has a wormhole.  WTF!!!
Amateurs study tactics, Professionals study logistics - paraphrase attributed to Gen Omar Bradley
 

Offline Beersatron

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 983
  • Thanked: 2 times
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2010, 02:15:17 PM »
Quote from: "Charlie Beeler"
Invaders popping up several million kilometers from their stable wormhole!!  First time it happenned they were in the middle of the wreckage from the first incursion.  This time they appear on top of Earth!!!  They wormhole has an active pick, and only one shows on the system map.  Either something is broken or the Invaders can appear anywhere within a system that has a wormhole.  WTF!!!

Maybe an unintentional side effect of spawning a non-NPR. Could it be that Steve is hooking into the same spawning code that is used for Star Swarm, [spoiler:2fr2u9v9]since they spawn from wrecks[/spoiler:2fr2u9v9]?
 

Offline Charlie Beeler

  • Registered
  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1381
  • Thanked: 3 times
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2010, 02:24:44 PM »
That's just it,  I'm not sure they are spawning the same as Starswarm.  No wrecks were above Earth.  I'm just lucky, if you can call it that, that I've been building a stockpile of fighters to support carrier expeditions to fight an Invader fleet I encountered in Alpha Centauri.
Amateurs study tactics, Professionals study logistics - paraphrase attributed to Gen Omar Bradley
 

Offline Beersatron

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 983
  • Thanked: 2 times
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2010, 02:35:16 PM »
Any chance Steve could have introduced an advanced cloaking system? So Advanced that they snook up you even with TH/EM and Active search sensors blearing away .....  :?
 

Offline Charlie Beeler

  • Registered
  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1381
  • Thanked: 3 times
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2010, 03:03:23 PM »
I have my doubts since I've looked at the Invaders ship classes with the developers password.
Amateurs study tactics, Professionals study logistics - paraphrase attributed to Gen Omar Bradley
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • S
  • Posts: 7191
  • Thanked: 2237 times
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2010, 03:23:03 PM »
Quote from: "Charlie Beeler"
Invaders popping up several million kilometers from their stable wormhole!!  First time it happenned they were in the middle of the wreckage from the first incursion.  This time they appear on top of Earth!!!  They wormhole has an active pick, and only one shows on the system map.  Either something is broken or the Invaders can appear anywhere within a system that has a wormhole.  WTF!!!
They can appear some distance from the wormhole as they have the same tech that allows jump-capable ships to arrive away from their destination jump point. However, this should be limited to a max of 2-3 million kilometers. Unfortunately I am still in Vegas so I can't look at the code.

Steve
 

Offline Charlie Beeler

  • Registered
  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1381
  • Thanked: 3 times
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2010, 03:40:23 PM »
Quote from: "Steve Walmsley"
Quote from: "Charlie Beeler"
Invaders popping up several million kilometers from their stable wormhole!!  First time it happenned they were in the middle of the wreckage from the first incursion.  This time they appear on top of Earth!!!  They wormhole has an active pick, and only one shows on the system map.  Either something is broken or the Invaders can appear anywhere within a system that has a wormhole.  WTF!!!
They can appear some distance from the wormhole as they have the same tech that allows jump-capable ships to arrive away from their destination jump point. However, this should be limited to a max of 2-3 million kilometers. Unfortunately I am still in Vegas so I can't look at the code.

Steve

Just some addition info for when you can review the code.

This latest one was about 74m km from the wormhole and the previous one was about 114m km.  The wormhole hasn't moved since it appeared in the Sol System.


Something else I'm finding.  Each new incursion class is in the range of twice the size as the previous class.
Amateurs study tactics, Professionals study logistics - paraphrase attributed to Gen Omar Bradley
 

Offline waresky

  • Registered
  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1461
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • Alpine Mountaineer..ohh Yeah!
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2010, 05:56:32 AM »
3 new campaign with invaders who annhilitaed me..
3 time am reborn.
in 2 years this r the most badly change in whole game.

my 2 cents

Now am wait for trash the Invader definely: am waitn for 5.2

Astorre out
 

Offline welchbloke

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 986
  • Thanked: 1 times
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2010, 06:29:26 AM »
Quote from: "waresky"
3 new campaign with invaders who annhilitaed me..
3 time am reborn.
in 2 years this r the most badly change in whole game.

my 2 cents

Now am wait for trash the Invader definely: am waitn for 5.2

Astorre out
Luck does seem to play a major part in dealing with this new threat.  If they turn up somewhere out of the way and you get enough time to build up a force, they can be dealt with quite nicely.  If they turn up in your home system early in the game - then it's a case of do you prefer your Home World flash fried or roasted?
Welchbloke
 

Offline waresky

  • Registered
  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1461
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • Alpine Mountaineer..ohh Yeah!
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2010, 07:31:22 AM »
Quote from: "welchbloke"
Quote from: "waresky"
3 new campaign with invaders who annhilitaed me..
3 time am reborn.
in 2 years this r the most badly change in whole game.

my 2 cents

Now am wait for trash the Invader definely: am waitn for 5.2

Astorre out
Luck does seem to play a major part in dealing with this new threat.  If they turn up somewhere out of the way and you get enough time to build up a force, they can be dealt with quite nicely.  If they turn up in your home system early in the game - then it's a case of do you prefer your Home World flash fried or roasted?
AFter 2 years in Updating..this late r very wrong change ever made from Steve.

am reply: my 2 cents.
Boring situation and not RolePaying posture for this "NEw" feature.

too absurd...(or same as REAL space= absurd too?:DDD)
 

Offline welchbloke

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 986
  • Thanked: 1 times
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2010, 07:36:53 AM »
Quote from: "waresky"
AFter 2 years in Updating..this late r very wrong change ever made from Steve.

am reply: my 2 cents.
Boring situation and not RolePaying posture for this "NEw" feature.

too absurd...(or same as REAL space= absurd too?:DDD)
Steve has acknowledged that the Invaders are overpowered and he will be altering them for 5.2.
Welchbloke
 

Offline Charlie Beeler

  • Registered
  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1381
  • Thanked: 3 times
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2010, 08:07:34 AM »
Sorry fellow Invader fighters!!  I'd forgotten about this thread.

I'm still playing the same game.  Granted it's not everyday, but I'm about 15 years past where I was when I last posted in this thread.  

I think my issue with where the Invaders were first showing up had to do with the time incriments I was using, 30 days.  That appears to have been allowing segnificant movement away from the wormhole before they were detected.  This is inspite of having scouts at 4 points around the wormhole at 25m km's.  I've since been using 1 day increments and have not had a repeat of the them first being detected several hundred km's from the wormhole.  

My build up of several hundred missile fighters has been all that has allowed me to stay in this game.  

I absolutely agree that the Invaders are way too powerful for races that start with research points under 1 million.  My current game started with 300,000 rp's and I am bearly holding my home system.  The economy is wrecked.  Almost everything is being poured into new fighters generations and missile stocks to feed the fighters.  What isn't being spent in those areas is either research based on wreck salvage or upgrading the remaining starting ships with new tech.  No new ship construction has occurred in the last 8-10 game years.  

Things are finally looking up.  Radiation from the bombardment during the second incursion has disapated and the dust levels are low enough again that the massive infrastructure build is no longer needed.  The infrastructure is being distributed to new colonies in the Sol system.  Factory production is starting up again to replace the lost factories, mines, and research facilities.  I'm having to very carefully watch the treasury and make sure too not let it dip negative for very long.  The emergency buildup after the first incursion had a hugely negative impact on production and took almost 5 years to dig out from under.
Amateurs study tactics, Professionals study logistics - paraphrase attributed to Gen Omar Bradley
 

Offline Beersatron

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 983
  • Thanked: 2 times
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2010, 01:02:47 PM »
One of my Colonies (New Mars) took a single salvo from the Invaders just before my massed PDC and BB fire took the last one out - closest I have ever came to losing an actual full up Colony to NPRs before.

I have found that my cheaper PDC with 30 size 5 launchers does better than the more expensive PDC with 10 size 10 launchers and 16 size 1 launchers. Single salvo of 10 is swatted out of the sky and I have no-hope in intercepting their torps.

I have since created a specialised Invader killer (theoretically) that is based on my BB. Instead of 26 size 5 launchers it has 260 size 5 box launchers  8) and a speed of 11k kms. Idea is to deliver one hell of an alpha with these BBs and then have the standard BBs finish with smaller salvos but sustained firing. Plus, I get to run away and possibly have the time to reload.
 

Offline welchbloke

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 986
  • Thanked: 1 times
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #13 on: July 07, 2010, 03:48:19 PM »
Quote from: "Beersatron"
I have since created a specialised Invader killer (theoretically) that is based on my BB. Instead of 26 size 5 launchers it has 260 size 5 box launchers  8) and a speed of 11k kms. Idea is to deliver one hell of an alpha with these BBs and then have the standard BBs finish with smaller salvos but sustained firing. Plus, I get to run away and possibly have the time to reload.
Based upon my experience that alpha strike should definately kill a 32 000 tonne Invader maybe even 2 of them; I haven't fought any 64 000 tonne Invaders yet, but I would expect it would take significant damage.  I would have at least 6 of those Invader killers if you can afford it.  Don't forget they are going to have to fight uphill against a deluge of plasma torps.
Welchbloke
 

Offline Beersatron

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 983
  • Thanked: 2 times
Re: This is just wrong
« Reply #14 on: July 07, 2010, 04:10:21 PM »
Size 5 missile that is strength 6 and range of 60million km, have ECCM-3 so launch at around 45million km I think.

The standard BB has 14 armor and 90 shields, the Box BB has 10 armor and 90 shields.

I will probably have them escorted in by 4 CLEs and 6 CAs (2nd Fleet), the CAs have older version of the Size 5 missile and only ECCM-2 so they will be firing at about 27million km. The Box launchers stay with the fleet until impact and then turn, while the rest close-in to optimal FC range.

I only have one 6000 ton Meson FF at the moment so don't want to try bringing him into the fight. I reckon I will need 'a bucket load' of them to be able to survive the ranged fire before getting into range. Trying to remember the design, think it is 4 armor but can't remember if it has shields or not. It has 2 Twin Meson Turrets at tracking speed of 25k which may actually not be enough for PD!
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54