Author Topic: What should I research first?  (Read 4942 times)

Offline sloanjh (OP)

• Global Moderator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
What should I research first?
« on: January 31, 2010, 04:23:01 PM »
"I just started playing, and don't know what to research first.  Help!"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is actually a very difficult question to answer, because what you're going to research depends a lot on what your racial strategy is - you basically want to research things that support your strategy.  Some thoughts:

1)  Aurora is about designing systems, not just technologies, especially when it comes to weapons systems.  You need to think about all the technologies needed to put together a functioning system - missing one can cripple your weapons system (you'll find this out either when you try to design the weapon, try to design the ship using the weapon, or engage the enemy with a weapon you can't get to work :-) ).  Take lasers for example.  If you look at the energy weapons techs, you'll see two technologies directly related to lasers: focal length and frequency.  Lets say you've researched a couple of levels of these two, and try to build a laser weapon system.  You'll discover that you also need capacitor recharge rate (a power and propulsion tech) - going from 1 to 2 makes your lasers fire twice as fast.  When you go to design your ship, you'll discover that you need to create a beam fire control, which requires its own set of technologies.  You'll then discover that a fast (anti-missile) fire control doesn't do you much good if you don't have high speed ships or decent turret tech.  The best way to figure all this out is to try to do it and make mistakes.