Author Topic: Background & Preperation  (Read 3330 times)

Offline Zorgn (OP)

• Petty Officer
Background & Preperation
« on: June 25, 2010, 01:45:35 AM »
I'm new to the whole game write-up thing, so... Be gentle. I'm not new to the game, but would appreciate suggestions down the line, especially of the ship construction type.

Background

For near on seven hundred years, the Terran Empire has controlled the known galaxy. For the most part, it has been a peaceful age. What few wars there have been were extremely short and violent warnings to all beings not to take the Empire lightly.

However, as the Empire grew, and countless planets joined or were colonized, the job of governing became too much for any one group. The Empire, while still nominally ruler of all known space, only directly ruled Earth, a few near colonies, and the Imperial Navy. Outside of Earth's sphere of influence, corporations took on the day-to-day ruling of the Empire's planets.

Terran Empire

For the early part of its existance, the Empire ruled its domain absolutely. As it expanded, corporations were gradually allowed the freedom to run things, on the condition that they paid tithe to the empire and followed what few orders the Empire saw fit to send across the sometimes years long distances. Despite not directly controlling vast majorities of the Empire, the countless worlds of the Imperial space were held under one banner against threats both foreign and domestic by the might of the Imperial Navy.

Imperial Navy

Compared to the rest of the empire, the Navy is fantastically advanced. Seven hundred years of focused research into millitary technologies has given even the smallest naval fighter a near-legendary reputation for destructive potential.

Technology