Author Topic: Newbie Suggestions  (Read 1622 times)

Offline WCG (OP)

• Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • W
Newbie Suggestions
« on: February 11, 2010, 01:57:24 PM »
I just downloaded this game yesterday, and I know it will be a challenge to learn, but as a complete newbie, some things about the start seem needlessly confusing. Maybe there IS a reason, and it's simple enough once you learn it, I'm sure. But I have a few suggestions from the point of view of a rank beginner.

Keep in mind that I'm a newbie, but I did spend a whole day reading through the tutorial, the wiki, and other postings here, and taking voluminous notes. (I'm not very computer-literate, but in some ways, I'm such a nerd!)  I really thought that I was about as prepared as I could get.

1) So I started the game, checked over the "Game Details" screen, and clicked "Select." Oops! Nothing came up but a window title and toolbar. Did I screw up the installation somehow?  :)

Offline Venec

• Chief Petty Officer
  • V
Re: Newbie Suggestions
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2010, 03:55:43 PM »
I can understand your feelings  :)

On a side note, If you're still having problems with windows (buttons not showing due to small resolution, etc.) try:

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Sys ... able.shtml

It takes some practice resizing Aurora's windows but it's better than nothing.

Cheers  :)

Offline Erik L

• Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2010, 05:30:18 PM »
The window title and toolbar IS the main window. When you click Select, rather than New, it loads the game listed in the drop down (usually Steve's current game).

Offline WCG (OP)

• W
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2010, 07:08:32 PM »