Author Topic: Starting a multi-faction solitaire game, with a random twist  (Read 7716 times)

Offline Desdinova (OP)

• Lt. Commander
  • D
So, I haven't played Aurora in a while, and I want to do something I’ve never done before: a multi-faction game, sort of inspired by Steve's Colonial Wars. I’ll be playing each faction, but to make it interesting, I’ll be developing some house rules governing each faction’s behavior. The basic idea is that it’s a multi-faction conventional start. Starting year: 2020 with no NPRs.

To introduce a degree of randomness, I'm letting dice dictate my foreign policy. But just to note, I reserve the right to change any of this at any time to make a more interesting game.

House rules:
Each faction maintains a relationship with the other faction, that changes dynamically throughout the game. The relationship levels are:
Allied
Friendly
Open
Neutral
Distrustful
Belligerent
Hostile

Every year, I roll 3d6 for each nation, which determines the shift in relationships. I won't start rolling until into the Trans-Newtonian age, when each nation starts claiming space.

3-4: Diplomatic crisis (immediate relationship drop, 2 levels)
5-7: Relationships sour (immediate relationship drop, 1 level)
14-16: Warming relations (immediate relationship rise, 1 level)
17-18: Diplomatic breakthrough (immediate relationship rise, 2 levels)

This roll is modified thusly:
Allied: + 2 (allied nations tend to remain allied, barring extraordinary circumstances)
Friendly: +1
Distrustful: -1
Belligerent: -2
There is no relationship penalty for nations that are already hostile, so that international tension tends to ebb and flow.

Nations are not allied but have one or more common allies: +2
Nations are not allied but have one or more common friends: +1
Nations are not allied but have one or more common rivals (belligerent): +1
Nations are not allied but have one or more common enemies (hostile): +2
Nation is belligerent to one or more allies: -1