Author Topic: Issue on laptop = screen size  (Read 4040 times)

Offline ollobrains (OP)

• Commander
  • o
Issue on laptop = screen size
« on: May 16, 2012, 03:00:13 PM »
well trying to play aurora and it runs ok on a laptop but the screen size has about 20% of the window off screen and theres no ability to scale the aurora windows to fit the window is it possible to have some scaling ability for the windows that popup.  Hope this makes sense just want to be able to adjust the size of each window by say 30% up or down

Offline Tarran

• Warrant Officer, Class 1
Re: Issue on laptop = screen size
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2012, 03:27:52 PM »
Have you tried the Reduced Height Windows option in Game Parameters yet?

Offline Garfunkel

• Registered
  • Admiral of the Fleet
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2012, 04:45:59 PM »
AFAIK and IIRC, this is not possible before Steve moves on from VB6. But I'm not a programmer so might have misunderstood.

Offline Steve Walmsley

• Aurora Designer
  • Star Marshal
  • S
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2012, 10:55:11 AM »
well trying to play aurora and it runs ok on a laptop but the screen size has about 20% of the window off screen and theres no ability to scale the aurora windows to fit the window is it possible to have some scaling ability for the windows that popup.  Hope this makes sense just want to be able to adjust the size of each window by say 30% up or down

A program based on C#/WPF has the ability to scale windows and controls automatically, so if you resize a window then the controls will resize with it with no code required. For VB6/Windows Forms there is no native resizing so I would have to recalculate every control size and control position manually on every window for every resize event. As the priority list for Aurora tends to be heavily influenced by what is fun to play or program :), this isn't likely to happen any time soon.

Steve

Offline ollobrains (OP)

• Commander
  • o
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2012, 06:50:07 AM »