Author Topic: Make the windows sizes independent from the screen resolution.  (Read 4200 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline legendman3 (OP)

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • l
  • Posts: 4
This isn't a bug so i don't know where else to put this.     

I am on a laptop (screen resolution 1366x768) and am using a program called altdrag to (trying) to resize and move your game windows around so i can read them but i have noticed that windows will not resize bigger than the screen resolution.  I don't mean i resize them top to bottom i mean i drag the window so the bottom is at the top then try resizing but they won't because they are alreay at 768 pixels height.  So i was looking for ways to get around this and found this.  

hxxp: stackoverflow. com/questions/6123410/can-a-window-be-resized-past-the-screen-size-offscreen

Which from me skimming over shows that you can program windows to ignore the max windows size and be able to be made larger than the screen resolution height.  I would much enjoy it if you could program this into the game and make like a optional patch or something so that i can play on my resolution.       

From what i can do and understand(research and make time go by) this is a nice game.     
« Last Edit: July 20, 2012, 06:50:00 PM by legendman3 »
 

Offline Erik L

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5654
  • Thanked: 366 times
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Re: Make the windows sizes independent from the screen resolution.
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2012, 08:52:40 PM »
I think the issue is that the windows (for the most part) are minimum 1280 x 1024 resolution.

What I think you are experiencing is a Windows OS thing. It's trying to cram the window into a space it is not meant for. You might look at adjusting your resolution to something bigger than your display (WinXP only, seems to be disabled in Win7).

Offline legendman3 (OP)

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • l
  • Posts: 4
Re: Make the windows sizes independent from the screen resolution.
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2012, 09:39:55 PM »
Quote from: Erik Luken link=topic=5103. msg52155#msg52155 date=1342835560
I think the issue is that the windows (for the most part) are minimum 1280 x 1024 resolution.

What I think you are experiencing is a Windows OS thing.  It's trying to cram the window into a space it is not meant for.  You might look at adjusting your resolution to something bigger than your display (WinXP only, seems to be disabled in Win7).
I know the windows are a minimum of that and i know it is a OS problem.  I was just giving some code to show how to allow it in windows 7.  I'm sorry you misunderstood my post.  But i followed your advice on google and found some help of doing that on windows 7.  Also i tried some of the portrait resolutions and its funny having a sideways screen but hey! It works!
 

Offline Xkill

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 101
  • Thanked: 3 times
Re: Make the windows sizes independent from the screen resolution.
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2012, 02:05:54 AM »
Hello guys, long time no see huh? Anyway, I think I got the solution to the resolution problem everyone has collided with, it's a nice little free program called Infinite Screen. It allow the user to resise windows, scroll (spelling?) the desktop to any direction in any possible extent, as far as I know.

I'm using it myself, since, as the OP I have a 1366x768 screen resolution, which was the reason I stopped playing this game and coming to the forums. It's a little confusing to use at first, but I think I got it covered for the most part.

Here:

http://ynea.futureware.at/cgi-bin/index.pl

 

Offline legendman3 (OP)

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • l
  • Posts: 4
Re: Make the windows sizes independent from the screen resolution.
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2012, 11:15:10 AM »
None of any of your solutions work.  The windows OS specifically prevents windows from being taller than the screen height and when i allowed my computer to use none standard resolutions not even those were big enough! The infinite desktop thing doesn't work either because when i try to resize the windows to a bigger resolution they won't become bigger! I put a link in the original post that goes to a solution that you can put in the game code that will allow for the games windows to be bigger than the screen limitations.  Does that explain it now?
 

Offline legendman3 (OP)

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • l
  • Posts: 4
Re: Make the windows sizes independent from the screen resolution.
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2012, 11:36:33 AM »
You can forget EVERYTHING i have said because i just found the oh so wonderful Reduced Height Windows option under the game parameters tab.
 

Offline Person012345

  • Captain
  • **********
  • Posts: 539
  • Thanked: 29 times
Re: Make the windows sizes independent from the screen resolution.
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2012, 03:27:33 PM »
In case there's a case where reduced height windows is not small enough, you can also tell your computer that it has a projector. As long as you set the option to extend and make sure the second screen is above the first it will treat your screen as being that high.
 

Offline Xkill

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 101
  • Thanked: 3 times
Re: Make the windows sizes independent from the screen resolution.
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2012, 04:23:38 PM »
None of any of your solutions work.  The windows OS specifically prevents windows from being taller than the screen height and when i allowed my computer to use none standard resolutions not even those were big enough! The infinite desktop thing doesn't work either because when i try to resize the windows to a bigger resolution they won't become bigger! I put a link in the original post that goes to a solution that you can put in the game code that will allow for the games windows to be bigger than the screen limitations.  Does that explain it now?

Are you using the Infinite Screen program itself to resize the windows, or altdrag? I got it running here with no problems at all. Take a look at the "Oversize" tab select the window that you wish to modify then look at the bottom of the "Oversize" tab and look for width and height and then change it there.

What OS are you using? I used GimeSpace Dektop Extender, which has the ability to resize windows on both XP and 7 (which is the one I'm using now) and both worked fine. You could also take a look at Resize Enable, maybe it can help.
 

Offline North Pole

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • N
  • Posts: 4
Re: Make the windows sizes independent from the screen resolution.
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2012, 05:20:43 PM »
You can actually scale desktop and windows if you run windows inside vmware.  Text is harder to read when scaled in such way and aurora seems to perform worse inside vmware though.
 

Offline Flying Dice

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • F
  • Posts: 2
Re: Make the windows sizes independent from the screen resolution.
« Reply #9 on: August 19, 2012, 08:29:39 PM »
There's also a rather nifty program called ResizeEnable that will allow you to resize any window.  Between that and the reduced height windows, I can play just fine on 1024x768.