Author Topic: A few questions  (Read 1656 times)

Offline PressXtoNotDie (OP)

• Able Ordinary Rate
  • P
A few questions
« on: October 01, 2012, 01:58:25 AM »
Hi all, I am fairly new to the game, but I have gotten the hang of things, and I am alright at the game, but there are some things I am not sure I should or shouldn't be doing.

First question is what is the difference between a conventional empire start and Trans-Newtonian?
What are the benefits and disadvantages of each? or is it purely role-playing?

Second question is what should I be doing at the start straight away as soon as I start? I have been building survey ships, cargo ships, etc.  etc.  and all that, and I have also been pumping out auto mines and putting them on planets and moons and stuff that have an ok amount minerals on them.  The problem is I don't think I am expanding enough, cause earth runs out of minerals, and the other places with auto mines on them, don't pump out minerals fast enough, or they run out as well.

Should I be expanding beyond the sol system as fast as possible? what should I be doing?

Also what I am doing is keeping earth as the main building/researching/everything place and sending all the minerals there to earth.  Should I be doing this? is this wrong?

Thanks!  :)

Offline Nathan_

• Pulsar 4x Dev
  • Commodore
  • N
Re: A few questions
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2012, 02:27:45 AM »
1)TN empires start with more technology, more industry, facilities, shipyards, labs, scientists(I think), starting RP that can be spent on techs, and the ability to create fast OOB ships up to a certain amount(you can still SM them in, but it goes against the spirit of the starting conditions on conventional). conventional by contrast starts with fewer labs, some conventional industry(inferior in all regards but can be converted cheaply to TN facilities), no techs, 1 shipyard, and around 20 missile complexes(unless you turn them off).