Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - ty55101

Pages: [1]
1
If he is concerned about getting rammed, presumably the ship is well within range of enemy actives so reducing passive emissions probably wont do too much here.
The following users thanked this post: ty55101

2
Mechanics / Re: Not being invaded
« on: July 01, 2016, 02:51:10 PM »
So in my latest game I made it to where there is a reasonable possibility that sol could be invaded in a decade or two (sadly it was not) I originally started with 4 nprs and added 4 more about a decade in with a 250 system limit. I have yet to actually met anyone exploring 18 systems so far, but the nprs seem to be having fun fighting since my game keeps getting slowed down to 5 minute turns. I later turned down the max systems to 150. So, why is it that one has yet to enter my territory? I just checked and 92 systems have been generated.

On a side note my npr generation is 25% and I have found 3 class 2 and at least 5 class 3 planets and I have yet to find an npr on one. Why is that? Am I just getting unlucky with dice rolls?
Possibly.
A reason could be that you've put too many NPRs and they're all busy killing each other to actually explore. Another reason could be that you haven't quite explored hard enough, either, as the best way to make a trail of systems that lead back to your home planet is exploring as many systems as possible.
Mind that with NPR's blowing each other up, they'll be stunting each-other's growth a little bit due to all the blowing up going on, so they won't get as widespread.
If you want more of a challenge, though, you can enable the challenge races (Swarm, EG Invaders, and such.)
The following users thanked this post: ty55101

3
Mechanics / Re: Why can missiles not be less than 1 MSP?
« on: June 15, 2016, 02:28:04 AM »
Because it used to be possible, but someone raised the possibility of making chaff missiles as decoys, and Steve decided the simplest way to fix it was to set this limit.
The following users thanked this post: ty55101

4
Mechanics / Re: npr planet suitability
« on: June 10, 2016, 04:17:01 AM »
As far as I know minerals are only generated either when a body is surveyed, or if an NPR is generated on the body. For an NPR the "homeworld mineral generation" calculation is used which gives a guaranteed High availability of all TNE's but at fairly low reserve. Basically they get the same level of resources as you always start with on earth, there's slight variability of course. You can check yourself using space master mode, go to the system information screen with SM mode on and click any body, there's an option somewhere to regenerate  mineral deposits, and another to regenerate homeworld level deposits, or alternatively you can manually define any resources.
The following users thanked this post: ty55101

5
Mechanics / Re: Is aurora limited in its CPU usage?
« on: June 02, 2016, 12:42:59 PM »
Aurora is written in VB6 which was released roughly 1996.  Its not multi core aware.
The following users thanked this post: ty55101

6
Aurora Chat / Re: Land Force Structure
« on: June 01, 2016, 07:28:57 PM »
There is not really a point in having the combat engineer all it does is increase construction capabilities with almost no stats and taking a lot of training time.  The only reason you would use it would be to construct a PDC.  You can also use the ships with drop capabilities to board enemy craft and take the vessel.
You are mistaken. The Construction Brigade is the one that does construction like a factory, and is truly huge in size requirements. The Combat Engineers are units that get a bonus to combat from and against PDCs.
The following users thanked this post: ty55101

7
The Academy / Re: Survivors and crew pool
« on: May 31, 2016, 09:36:39 PM »
The pool of crew is visible in the Teams/Academy tab of the Economics window.

And they are automatically sent between worlds via invisible FTL shuttles and/or teleportation (its shared empire wide and can be drawn from and added to from anywhere).
The following users thanked this post: ty55101

8
The Academy / Re: I don't understand what Task Force Training does
« on: March 22, 2012, 04:03:58 AM »
Yes task force training is seperate from crew grade, and both are associated to individual ships and are unaffected by the absence of the task group HQ.

Crew grade represents the crews ability to perform tasks, better hit chances with beam weapons, shorter jump blindness, etc. Task force training represents their ability to carry out orders in a timely fashion, low training leads to things like missiles being fired off by individual ships at different times instead of the task group firing as one, slow reaction to change target/destination, etc.

There is no need for ships to be in the same system as their task group HQ, though they only recieve the various bonuses listed on the HQ screen if they are in the same system.
The following users thanked this post: ty55101

9
Aurora Bugs / Re: Error 6 Overflow with Sensors
« on: January 09, 2012, 05:00:06 PM »
It seems like I can't open a new topic here in the bugs-section.   Well, this one looks the closest to my current problem so I just reply here:

Once I open the F3-window this:
No systems is visible, only the blue emptieness of space.   A window with the name "Error in CentreOnLocation" tells me "Error 6.  .  .   Overflow.  .  .  "

If I kill this window twice it won't reappear until I restart the F3-screen, but of course a system map without system is far from useful to me. 

EDIT: if I zoom out, the error message reappears.  If I zoom in the game says "Run-time error '6': Overflow" and crashes after I confirm that window.

Don't have the game in front of me atm, but in the top-left of that screen you have the zoom buttons and I think there should also be a 'reset to default' or something like that - have a look and try that?
The following users thanked this post: ty55101

10
The Academy / Re: How do you make mines?
« on: February 05, 2010, 07:22:09 PM »
The main mine needs active sensors in order to target ships.  Without that, the mines are launching without an actual target (like shooting a gun because you heard a noise).
The following users thanked this post: ty55101

11
Announcements / Site Rules
« on: January 28, 2008, 12:00:32 PM »
1. No Spam. You get one chance to spam, and then you get banned.
2. No Flames. We are all here because we like 4x games.
3. Have Fun. If you aren't having fun, we'll send over someone to smack you with a trout until you do.  ;)
The following users thanked this post: ty55101

Pages: [1]