Author Topic: auto-turns upgrade  (Read 2244 times)

Offline Deoxy (OP)

• Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • D
auto-turns upgrade
« on: April 22, 2011, 10:27:14 AM »
While auto-turns is certainly MUCH better than not having it, it still leaves much to be desired.

As a programmer myself, I understand that how things work under the covers is not nearly as simple as it may sound, but if auto-turns already keeps going until an interrupt that affects a player race, I would strongly suggest hiding and "auto-turn-able" turns and simply continuing to "sub-pulse" until the original turn-length the player asks for.

Example: I hit 30 days.  Unless there is an interrupt that affects ME, the next thing I want to see is 30 days.  I don't care that 2 NPRs in a system I haven't discovered yet are fighting, and I don't need to see "last increment" entries for their behaviour.

In fact, giving me those intervening turns can be a source of intelligence, actually, especially if I started the game with no or very few NPRs.  Suddenly, as I enter a system, I get some unexpectedly short "turns"?  Must be an inhabited system...

I can understand that "under the covers", the NPRs have to make decisions, and it works best to handle this, internally, as "turn" events, but this should most certainly be hidden from the player, and with your existing "sub-pulse" mechanism, I don't think it would be very hard.

Offline sloanjh

• Global Moderator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Re: auto-turns upgrade
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2011, 08:22:04 PM »

While auto-turns is certainly MUCH better than not having it, it still leaves much to be desired.