Author Topic: Recon Drones & Missiles v Fighters.  (Read 1417 times)

Offline jRides (OP)

• Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • j
Recon Drones & Missiles v Fighters.
« on: September 06, 2010, 07:20:27 PM »
Hi, I'm still learning the ins and outs of this game, but I'm getting there - and loving every minute - Great game. So far I'm fine with the economic side (got my thriving solar system up and running), and as I am about to start exploring the galaxy I figured some sort of navy might be called for. I have been playing around in the SM replicating Steve's designs from the NATO vs Soviet Union Campaign AAR. Namely the NATO carrier group which Steve also listed here in the Bureau of Ship Design. It's helping in that I'm getting to grips with whats needed, how to design all the bits and pieces that go into the whole - like engines, (and a separate jump engine D'oh!) missiles the CIWS and so on, but I have a couple questions I just can't find answers for:

The RLN-6As and RLN-7Aa confuse me - what I think is that they are Drones where the 6A has points in Active and the 7A has points in EM - is this right? I initially thought once you designed these drones you could fit a sensor on them (I think thats Space Empires influencing me tho as thats the way drones worked there) but I can't see any way to do that, I gather that is the ability built in during missile design, and I will see what my missiles see.

I can see the benefits if thats so, in the AAR Steve launched them at planets but they died before detecting anything, although their deaths in a hail of fire was detection in itself right enough. :)

Offline waresky

• Registered
  • Vice Admiral
  • Alpine Mountaineer..ohh Yeah!
Re: Recon Drones & Missiles v Fighters.
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2010, 12:30:41 AM »
First ,u r Welcome here.:roll:

ive changed entirely my Naval "Missile" doctrine.