Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Detros

Pages: [1]
1
Aurora Bugs / Re: Official v7.10 Bugs Reporting Thread
« on: June 10, 2017, 02:56:45 AM »
    Fleet messages are not stored properly.
    • If you save a list of orders into template, orders to send a message will be kept but the messages themselves will be deleted.
    • If you repeat a list of orders with multiple orders to send a message, only the original orders to send a message will be properly send. For A, B and C different messages and where _ is message shown without any text:
      • (all at Luna) both "A,A,A,B; repeat 2x" and "A; repeat 2x; B; repeat 2x" lead to "3x A,B, 8x" [sic] instead of "A,A,A,B,A,A,A,B,A,A,A,B" (9x A, 3x B)
      • (alternating Luna-Earth-Luna) "A,B,C; repeat 1x"  leads to "A,B,C,_,_,_" instead of "A,B,C,A,B,C"
    Any other orders among those for sending a message doesn't seem to have any effect on this behaviour. There may be some differences between multiple orders to send a message at the same body one after another and such orders at different bodies but I didn't catch the rules there with my few experiments.
The following users thanked this post: iceball3

2
Aurora Suggestions / Re: Semi-Official 7.x Suggestion Thread
« on: June 09, 2017, 11:04:13 PM »
Could Fleet message automatically say the name of TG that has sent it?
The following users thanked this post: Titanian

3
Bureau of Ship Design / Re: Your original designs
« on: June 08, 2017, 03:53:17 PM »
I find Detros's designs a little bit more interresting because he use mostly energy weapons , (i use kinetic weapons as main weapons so i'm pretty much a noob in that area of weapon) wich i want to try with heavy ships long-ranged energy weapons with a lot of shields but my designs in that area is always a failure so i used until now kinetic weapons , now with Detros's designs as a base i'm going to try another game. Thanks
Thanks. Missiles at first seemed too complicated to me and everyone was saying they are so OP against AI so I have hardly used them at all (in my total of two games :D ).

For the previous fleet of multiple early designs with only lasers you can see Sun Fleet (Near-Ultra Laser, Magneto-Plasma) thread. In the end I didn't build any Sunstorms and ended with two fleets of 10x Sunbeam, 5x Sunstone, 1x Sunshine, 1x Sunsteed. Combined they managed to get through multiple streams of AAM, each at 60 missiles / 5s while losing like 2 ships. Slower ASMs at only 15 / 5s didn't manage to scratch the paint job, then.
The following users thanked this post: Jonathan.Joestar

4
Aurora Suggestions / Re: Semi-Official 7.x Suggestion Thread
« on: June 04, 2017, 12:41:16 PM »
Another little helping idea: when new scientist arrives, show his/her speciality even when their bonus is at 0%. If I am missing one type of scientist I would not have to go to research screen to find who this new guy is and if I should assign him/her a lab to start the training or if it is another biology enthusiast.
The following users thanked this post: DIT_grue, Titanian

5
Aurora Suggestions / Re: Semi-Official 7.x Suggestion Thread
« on: June 04, 2017, 11:04:01 AM »
Could the initial screen where you pick which game you want to load and which game settings to use be made into a proper window that shows on taskbars, please?

Just too often I start Aurora, click on some other application and then need to carefully minimize multiple windows and hunt for the starting screen. If it was located on the taskbar (as other Aurora windows) I could easily select it there.
The following users thanked this post: Titanian

6
Bureau of Ship Design / Re: Ion era fleet design
« on: June 03, 2017, 05:49:22 AM »
Just a little note: the Ranger class is too expensive to be used as a first explorer of new systems for my taste.
The following users thanked this post: MarcellHUN

7
The Academy / Re: Maintenance Clock going up during overhaul
« on: May 31, 2017, 11:49:13 AM »
What a weird rule. I thought it was to prevent mineral consumption.
Weirdly it seems that fighter is actually consuming minerals as a maintenance. While not being maintained because it is a fighter.
The following users thanked this post: iceball3

8
Aurora Bugs / Re: Official v7.10 Bugs Reporting Thread
« on: April 28, 2017, 04:54:24 PM »
Is there a way to backup saves? Because I just completely lost a game because I accidentally triple clicked instead of double clicking when started, and the game froze so bad I had to reinstall it.
Every few months / before and after each big action just copy Stevefire.mdb to some other folder. To load the save copy it back to the game folder, overwriting the current one, but  rather close the game first.
The following users thanked this post: Michael Sandy

9
C# Aurora / Re: C# Aurora Changes Discussion
« on: April 02, 2017, 12:09:22 PM »
I would like to see an option on the Task Group menu to see how long a particular move command is expected to take.  That way, if I click on Move To Wolf when I MEANT to Move To Wolf-Harrington, the time it takes might clue me in.

If it showed estimated times for refueling, loading cargo, etc, that would be awesome.
There already are estimates for the first command and all commands of given TG, together with distance.
If you switch to "All orders" and use several "Move to" commands it get recalculated after each of them so you can see the difference between Wolf and Wolf-Harr.
The following users thanked this post: Michael Sandy

10
The Academy / Re: First contact question
« on: March 31, 2017, 05:03:58 AM »
Under Ctrl+F5 there is Intelligence / Diplomacy screen. You can find it also under Empires tab in the main control window and as the last button on the top panel of F3 System view.

 From there you can assign a Diplomacy team to said NPR and let them do they work by trying to communicate. Just switch to "Political relations" tab.
The following users thanked this post: Lordubik

11
The Academy / Re: a couple of n00b questions
« on: March 23, 2017, 01:47:51 AM »
Well, I built it using the missile design tech, so it should be a missile.  Somewhere there is a button that does what I want it to...
So now you see them? Good.
To move missiles from one area (population) to other one (ship), double click on the name of missiles at the area you want them taken from.

P.S.: Could you please rename the OP so that this thread has less generic name than "a couple of n00b questions"? Something like "How to load missiles" would work.
The following users thanked this post: Michael Sandy

12
The Academy / Re: Missing energy impacts in event log
« on: March 12, 2017, 05:30:19 AM »
Does the amout of missile-hit-and-destroyed messages match the amount of missiles that are actually destroyed?
TLDR: Yes, every time I checked those messages, yes.

Original post:
Every time I checked those messages, yes. I have together 90x 15cm lasers there and the engage range set so that the chance-to-hit is around 50%. So in all those cases, once incoming missiles come close enough the whole group of volleys was all shot down, each time all missiles destroyed. So amount of "hit-and-destroyed" messages summed to amount of missiles in the given group of volleys.

These "hit-and-destroyed" messages seem to be then more proper information about how many missiles were shot down than those "energy impact" ones. At least in event log, as event log file will show just one missile hit even when turret manages to shot down more than one.

Effectively, the whole issue here is those "energy impact" messages are omitted from some "hit-and-destroyed" messages (or just "hit" ones for armored targets) but looking at the event log I have not managed to found the rule for when this happens yet. Looking at the screenshots higher it is a case when orange messages ("hit-and-destroyed") does not have dark-salmon one ("energy impact"; or how to call that colour) under it. There are three such occasions (it seems to me beam fire control (BFC) two shots always before BFC1):
  • Hamayuki, first targeting, BFC 2, gun 1, 2 guns unused
  • Hamagiri, first targeting, BFC 2, gun 2, 1 gun unused
  • Sunbeam, second targetting, BFC 1, gun 1, 1 gun unused
It is probably connected with multiple guns in turrets, multiple turrets under one BFC or missile volleys in group. Reloading should not be messing with it: while these lasers shoot only each 10s, as said, all missiles in each group were shot down during one interval and there was plenty time to reload between groups.

Looking at those printscreens now it seems the "energy impact" messages are always missing for those shots that finished the last missiles in a volley. Hamayuki finishes Salvo (eh, I should use that instead of  "volley") #143, Hamagiri finishes Salvo #145 and Sunbeam Salvo #144. 1 hit, 2 hits ,1 hits without impact = 5 missing impacts together.

Seeing all these three occasions have also some guns unused I will guess a bit and try to formulate it as:
Code: [Select]
If weapons under one BFC manage to shot down all missiles in a salvo (volley) and there are still some weapons under this BFC which didn't fire yet, the "energy impact" message will not be generated for the last weapon firing.
For one interval amount of these "missing impacts" can be from 0, when all salvos were finished by the last weapon under given BFC (could be there is only 1 weapon under 1 BFC), up to [i]amount_of_groups * max_amount_of_guns_in_one_used_weapon[/i], so [i]4 * amount_of_groups[/i] at the most.

This formula seems to hold for the interval shown here, I will try to check with more cases and see if it holds. But 0-6 range of amount of missing impacts (I am using twin turrets and there were 3 groups) would be wide interval for all cases seen during this whole battle.

*looks up* Whoa, sorry, that seems a bit too long for an answer to your question, Titanian.  Better to add TLDR.
The following users thanked this post: Titanian

13
The Academy / Re: Troop transport??
« on: February 23, 2017, 11:45:19 PM »
Just today mostly answered under Academy: Transportation of Construction brigade

1x Troop Transport Bay has capacity for 1 standard battalion
1x Small Troop Transport Bay has capacity for 1 standard company = 0.2 battalion
Marine Company is 5 times smaller than standard battalion -> you need just 1x Small Troop Transport Bay
Construction Brigade is 5 times bigger than standard battalion -> you need 5x Troop Transport Bay
Low tech divisions are 10 times bigger than standard battalion -> you need 10x Troop Transport Bay

In short, the "size" in Ground forces article shoud be divided by 5 to match "capacity" in Troop Transport Bay article
The following users thanked this post: Tor Cha

14
The Academy / Re: PDC with deployment time 0
« on: February 21, 2017, 09:42:25 AM »
Ah, that is definitely the issue. Its been repeated time and time again to switch your settings from comma to period due to some issues that may occur. Sadly you cannot refit PDCs, but you can delete the old designs and SM in the new ones.
As I am running Aurora through Wine on Ubuntu it took me some time to figure out how to change the settings for Aurora only and not for the rest of system. And I was more interested in playing more then to figure out. But in the end it is pretty simple, you just
Code: [Select]
cd to the folder with Aurora (just adding that folder to PATH may work too) and use
Code: [Select]
LC_ALL=en_US.UTF-8 wine Aurora.exe.
to change all your language settings to en_US just for this one command.

And I can refit PDCs. See in Industry, its under "Installations", "Ship components" and so on, the second to last option.
The following users thanked this post: Bughunter

Pages: [1]