Author Topic: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition  (Read 389617 times)

0 Members and 5 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Kaiser

  • Commander
  • *********
  • K
  • Posts: 337
  • Thanked: 47 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3900 on: April 04, 2024, 05:20:29 AM »
back again with the weird questions - sorry

i started towing a commercial shipyard from earth to alpha centauri - as soon as the tug left orbit i detected myself on a scanner - human aliens with 400 EM coming from the shipyard

i can see myself in the alien intel screen - my avatar and flag and can strike an alliance and various trade deals with myself

is that right  ???

I think it is, it is probably a trick made by Steve to allow the shipyard tug, once the shipyard arrives at destination the human-copy will disappear.
 

Offline Kaiser

  • Commander
  • *********
  • K
  • Posts: 337
  • Thanked: 47 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3901 on: April 08, 2024, 02:13:27 AM »
Good morning guys, I have got a doubt talking with another player from another forum.

Is it possible to use a commercial engine on a military ship? I am talking about from the how Aurora has been programmed point of view, I am aware of course of the difference in efficiency and purposes of the two types.

I remember at some point Steve changed this aspect but i do not remember in which sense.
 

Offline Andrew

  • Registered
  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 709
  • Thanked: 136 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3902 on: April 08, 2024, 03:38:18 AM »
Yes you can.
The only distinction is that a commercial jump drive cannot jump ships with military engines. If you are willing to except slow warships there is no reason you cannot mount weapons on a ship with commercial engines
 

Offline AlStar

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • Posts: 209
  • Thanked: 161 times
  • Flag Maker Flag Maker : For creating Flags for Aurora
    Race Maker Race Maker : Creating race images
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3903 on: April 08, 2024, 07:01:36 AM »
It's the best way to make explorer-class vessels. They need to be military, but you don't want them running out of fuel.

My current generation of Exploration Ships has ten times the range of my (similarly sized) Destroyers (810 billion km vs. 80 billion km) with the same fuel tank.
 

Offline Andrew

  • Registered
  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 709
  • Thanked: 136 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3904 on: April 08, 2024, 07:51:18 AM »
I thought my survey ships had a long range but they only do 350 billion km with my warships doing around 52 billion km
 

Offline nuclearslurpee

  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • ***********
  • Posts: 3061
  • Thanked: 2360 times
  • Radioactive frozen beverage.
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3905 on: April 08, 2024, 10:47:16 AM »
My survey ships have ~100b range and my warships ~20-30b, what is wrong with you people??  :P
 

Offline Andrew

  • Registered
  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 709
  • Thanked: 136 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3906 on: April 08, 2024, 11:16:34 AM »
I am too lazy to give my survey ships commands and they wonder the universe aimlessly until they come home to refuel and their crews see another living being, and get the prize for winning the avoiding  hostile contact lottery
 
The following users thanked this post: AlStar

Offline AlStar

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • Posts: 209
  • Thanked: 161 times
  • Flag Maker Flag Maker : For creating Flags for Aurora
    Race Maker Race Maker : Creating race images
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3907 on: April 08, 2024, 11:29:09 AM »
I highly prioritize fuel efficiency. Heck, my newest generation of fighters can go nearly 10 billion km (up from 8 last generation).

Also, due to the quirks of my galaxy layout, it's at least a 10 billion km trip from Sol (where my shipyards are) to anywhere else. I want to move the 'yards somewhere more centrally located, but the crazy manpower requirements have stalled progress on that front until I can build up population in the colonies.

My explorer ships have deployment times of 3 years, and maintenance stores to match - they're as fire-and-forget as I can make them. Admittedly, 810 billion range is probably more than I need (they usually time out or start running low on supplies first); but they're only running with 750,000-size fuel tanks - the efficiency of 5,000 ton engines with 30% fuel efficiency and 50% power stack to a crazy degree.
 

Offline Ulzgoroth

  • Captain
  • **********
  • U
  • Posts: 423
  • Thanked: 73 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3908 on: April 08, 2024, 06:18:34 PM »
My survey ships have ~100b range and my warships ~20-30b, what is wrong with you people??  :P
My warships mostly try to be around 30b, but my first-generation geo surveyors have 200b range and my late-gen grav surveyors are approaching double that. On the whole I usually wish they had more range rather than less.

The warships don't have more range because of the tonnage caps they're designed under. The survey ships are small enough (and the fuel fraction modest enough) that I could easily see boosting their range further, though.
 

Offline vorpal+5

  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 673
  • Thanked: 148 times
  • Silver Supporter Silver Supporter : Support the forums with a Silver subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3909 on: April 10, 2024, 12:31:32 AM »
I had setup the Truce countdown for 20 years, and 4 years after my start 2 of the NPRs in Sol (Greater China and Southern Federation) are exchanging blows. The DB is showing 0 for the truce countdown, so somehow it has been set to 0 for reason unknown.
 

Offline vorpal+5

  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 673
  • Thanked: 148 times
  • Silver Supporter Silver Supporter : Support the forums with a Silver subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3910 on: April 15, 2024, 03:52:54 AM »
Ah well, Truce. I believe no-one but Steve no the fine details about it. Anyway, moving on!

1 - is it possible to speed up the construction of a space station with components? I see no checkbox, so I guess it's not (possible)

2 - How do you see the details of ground units embarked in TT module? I would like to add a 100-tons TT module on each of my medium+ warships, but it seems you don't know much about the troop once it is boarded.

3 - Do STOs benefit implicitly from the Spinal mount research? Or never ever?
 

Offline Andrew

  • Registered
  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 709
  • Thanked: 136 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3911 on: April 15, 2024, 04:38:55 AM »
STO's workwith theweapon you built for them. So if you want them to use spinal mounts, then you need to design a spinal laser/plasma cannon and put it in an STOmount. I and at least some NPR's do this so it is straightforward
 

Offline skoormit

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 843
  • Thanked: 339 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3912 on: April 15, 2024, 09:11:43 AM »
1 - is it possible to speed up the construction of a space station with components? I see no checkbox, so I guess it's not (possible)

Not if you are building the space station with Construction Factories.
 

Offline nuclearslurpee

  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • ***********
  • Posts: 3061
  • Thanked: 2360 times
  • Radioactive frozen beverage.
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3913 on: April 15, 2024, 10:23:49 AM »
2 - How do you see the details of ground units embarked in TT module? I would like to add a 100-tons TT module on each of my medium+ warships, but it seems you don't know much about the troop once it is boarded.

You can see some information in the "Transported Items" tab on the naval organization window. You can also see the entire formation detail on the Ground Forces window, OOB tab, if you check the box to show units on ships (which is off by default).

As an aside, while 100 tons is probably fine for ship's defense squads, I would probably suggest using 200 tons if you want to conduct boarding actions, as I've found in practice that 100 tons is a bit too small for most typical ship sizes you might want to capture.
 

Offline Kaiser

  • Commander
  • *********
  • K
  • Posts: 337
  • Thanked: 47 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3914 on: April 15, 2024, 02:11:58 PM »
I want launch a ground invasion of Europa, my landing ship has a drop troops bay module, but for some reason I do not have the drop troops command, why?

Code: [Select]
America class Landing Craft Assault      73,025 tons       292 Crew       2,256.6 BP       TCS 1,460    TH 800    EM 0
547 km/s      Armour 2-155       Shields 0-0       HTK 89      Sensors 0/0/0/0      DCR 1-0      PPV 0
MSP 19    Max Repair 800 MSP
Troop Capacity 50,000 tons     Drop Capable   
Lieutenant Commander    Control Rating 1   BRG   
Intended Deployment Time: 3 months   

Dang Aero Engines Commercial Nuclear Pulse Engine  EP200.00 (4)    Power 800    Fuel Use 4.74%    Signature 200    Explosion 5%
Fuel Capacity 504,000 Litres    Range 26.2 billion km (553 days at full power)

Sevilla-Hurrell Active Search Sensor AS29-R100 (50%) (1)     GPS 1600     Range 29.6m km    Resolution 100

Ground Forces
1x Brigate

This design is classed as a Commercial Vessel for maintenance purposes
This design is classed as a Troop Transport for auto-assignment purposes