Author Topic: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition  (Read 389659 times)

0 Members and 25 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline skoormit

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 843
  • Thanked: 339 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3960 on: May 01, 2024, 11:56:23 AM »
Skoormit, out of curiosity can you send your DB? I would like to have some fun with your map. I am asking because I never really encountered a really messy run in terms of inter system connections. I guess I have been lucky (or unlucky, depending on point of view) so far. It is true I only play with Real Stars map, and I noticed that this situations are most common in non Real System starts or if you mess around local systems connections.

DB Attached.
Note: this is game version 1.13. Probably will not work with the current executable.
 
The following users thanked this post: Froggiest1982

Offline skoormit

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 843
  • Thanked: 339 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3961 on: May 01, 2024, 12:04:32 PM »
...I noticed that this situations are most common in non Real System starts or if you mess around local systems connections.

The settings for this game were 75% local, 30 spread, which is now my standard game setup.
It gives plenty of interesting loops, and relatively few short/boring loops.
 
The following users thanked this post: Froggiest1982

Offline AlStar

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • Posts: 209
  • Thanked: 161 times
  • Flag Maker Flag Maker : For creating Flags for Aurora
    Race Maker Race Maker : Creating race images
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3962 on: May 01, 2024, 04:34:51 PM »
DB Attached.
Note: this is game version 1.13. Probably will not work with the current executable.
Ooh, a March 2021 vintage - good choice! (For reasons unknown, I never got around to deleting any of the old install files - I've got all the way back to aurora110).

Wow. You've definitely gone with a totally different way of organizing your stuff than I do. Your fleet is enormous; I can only assume that you can tell what the hell everything's doing by the codes that make up their fleet names.

I'm pretty sure that I'd go insane trying to find any given system with the name's you've used (although, again, it looks like you've got some code bytes at the end of some systems that I assume mark points of interest).

I'll hold to my position that your galaxy map is a total eyesore, though.

Very neat getting a look at how someone else plays this spreadsheet of a game.
 

Offline skoormit

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 843
  • Thanked: 339 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3963 on: May 02, 2024, 05:41:01 AM »
Your fleet is enormous; I can only assume that you can tell what the hell everything's doing by the codes that make up their fleet names.

Indeed. Fleet names tell me exactly what each fleet is doing.
My spreadsheet also relies on the fleet naming convention to tally cargo movements.
I posted a bit about it a while back:

1) Naming conventions for fleets and colonies

I use a consistent naming convention for fleets and colonies.
Names of fleets indicate the fleet composition, as well as the location and/or task and/or capacity and/or needs of the fleet.

Example: FT ANT-A3 infra 245/yr Hlr x12 B
Interpretation:
  • FT:   Freighters. (Just the default hull abbreviation.)
  • ANT-A3 infra 245/yr:   Cycling orders to haul infrastructure to colony ANT-A3, with average throughput of 245 per year (varies somewhat by orbital positions of source and target colony).
  • Hlr x12:   Contains 12 ships of the Hauler class.
  • B:   Appending a unique letter per each fleet with the same hull abbreviation makes it easier to quickly find this fleet when a list contains several fleets with similar (or even otherwise identical) names.


Quote
I'm pretty sure that I'd go insane trying to find any given system with the name's you've used (although, again, it looks like you've got some code bytes at the end of some systems that I assume mark points of interest).

The system naming is straightforward.
The first three letters of each system name are unique.
New systems are named by incrementing the third letter from the previous system in the branch.
First system in a new branch gets a new ??A name.
This way, I can use three-letter abbreviations for system names. The abbreviations will be unique, and they will provide (some) information about where the system is.

And yes, some system names are appended with additional information, either via specific symbols or a short phrase.
This helps remind me of certain problems, like a hostile NPR planet lying directly in the path between JPs.
It also helps me set fleet orders for surveyors directly from the list, without needing to always refer back to the map to see which systems still need geo and/or grav survey work.

Also, by the time you get to this point in a game, your own mental model of the map is very robust. You don't exactly have it memorized, but you know the important places, the major routes, the new and interesting discoveries, etc.
Looking at it cold is far more difficult, since you have no mental model to rely on.


Quote
I'll hold to my position that your galaxy map is a total eyesore, though.

No argument here, but I hold to my position that any map of this 246-system galaxy is going to be an eyesore, no matter how the systems are arranged. There are just too many very long loops for a 2d representation to handle well.
I would love to see an arrangement that proves me wrong.

Quote
Very neat getting a look at how someone else plays this spreadsheet of a game.

 ;D
Whenever I pick up a new game, my kids know I haven't seriously gotten into it until the second monitor contains a spreadsheet.
With Aurora, the second and third monitors contain spreadsheets.
The main one has a couple dozen tabs.
Eleven of those are just to hold the source data from the database (for the other tabs to refer to).
I have almost as much fun developing the spreadsheet as I do playing the game.



 
The following users thanked this post: vorpal+5

Offline paolot

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • p
  • Posts: 112
  • Thanked: 13 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3964 on: May 02, 2024, 08:18:09 PM »
For reference, that means to install the full 1.13 distribution, then the 2.5.0 distribution, then the 2.5.1 distribution in that order, following the instructions in each linked thread.
Because of this answer of nuclearslurpee in the 2.5.1 bugs thread, I checked my last installation and downloaded game files.
I have a file named Aurora250Full.7z, dimensions about 110 MB, that I cannot find in this site now, so I wonder where I got it.
Is anyone else having this file? If so, the installation it generates is it correct, respect the path that nuclearslurpee says? It seems to me that I am playing without any issue, but I would like a confirmation.
 

Offline lumporr

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • l
  • Posts: 78
  • Thanked: 34 times
  • Silver Supporter Silver Supporter : Support the forums with a Silver subscription
    2023 Supporter 2023 Supporter : Donate for 2023
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3965 on: May 02, 2024, 09:10:44 PM »
Is there any way to SM add radiation to a planet? I keep trying to do it via the Modify Body button on the System Generation and Display window, but every time I hit Update Body the number resets to 0.
 

Offline nuclearslurpee

  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • ***********
  • Posts: 3061
  • Thanked: 2360 times
  • Radioactive frozen beverage.
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3966 on: May 02, 2024, 10:07:56 PM »
For reference, that means to install the full 1.13 distribution, then the 2.5.0 distribution, then the 2.5.1 distribution in that order, following the instructions in each linked thread.
Because of this answer of nuclearslurpee in the 2.5.1 bugs thread, I checked my last installation and downloaded game files.
I have a file named Aurora250Full.7z, dimensions about 110 MB, that I cannot find in this site now, so I wonder where I got it.
Is anyone else having this file? If so, the installation it generates is it correct, respect the path that nuclearslurpee says? It seems to me that I am playing without any issue, but I would like a confirmation.

Probably from this thread. I don't recommend that thread simply because it's not official and is therefore unsupported, but I've used the mirrors once or twice myself so it's a viable alternative.
 
The following users thanked this post: paolot

Offline Garfunkel

  • Registered
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2828
  • Thanked: 1107 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3967 on: May 03, 2024, 12:16:30 AM »
Is there any way to SM add radiation to a planet? I keep trying to do it via the Modify Body button on the System Generation and Display window, but every time I hit Update Body the number resets to 0.
Seems to be a bug - dust level can be modified so the fact that Radiation cannot is probably a bug. I'll report it on the Bug Thread.
 
The following users thanked this post: lumporr

Offline paolot

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • p
  • Posts: 112
  • Thanked: 13 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3968 on: May 03, 2024, 04:39:13 PM »
Probably from this thread. I don't recommend that thread simply because it's not official and is therefore unsupported, but I've used the mirrors once or twice myself so it's a viable alternative.

Thank you, nuclear!
The important thing is that the resulting installation is reliable.   :)
 

Offline mmaaddnndd12

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • m
  • Posts: 1
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3969 on: May 03, 2024, 05:48:31 PM »
What minerals are Maintenance Supply Points made of?
 

Offline nuclearslurpee

  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • ***********
  • Posts: 3061
  • Thanked: 2360 times
  • Radioactive frozen beverage.
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3970 on: May 03, 2024, 05:53:53 PM »
What minerals are Maintenance Supply Points made of?

1 MSP = 0.1 duranium + 0.1 gallicite + 0.05 uridium (0.25 total minerals)
 

Offline vorpal+5

  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 673
  • Thanked: 148 times
  • Silver Supporter Silver Supporter : Support the forums with a Silver subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3971 on: May 04, 2024, 06:02:34 AM »
What minerals are Maintenance Supply Points made of?

Complement to nuclearslurpee info, if you don't remember, you can off and on the maintenance facilities on a planet and check the planned minerals expense variations.
 
The following users thanked this post: skoormit

Offline AlStar

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • Posts: 209
  • Thanked: 161 times
  • Flag Maker Flag Maker : For creating Flags for Aurora
    Race Maker Race Maker : Creating race images
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3972 on: May 04, 2024, 07:50:39 AM »
What minerals are Maintenance Supply Points made of?

Complement to nuclearslurpee info, if you don't remember, you can off and on the maintenance facilities on a planet and check the planned minerals expense variations.
You can also check on the Minerals tab - the breakdown of your mineral usage has a column called Maintenance, which will show that your maintenance facilities are using up Duranium / Uridium / Gallicite in a 1/.5/1 ratio.
 
The following users thanked this post: skoormit

Offline lumporr

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • l
  • Posts: 78
  • Thanked: 34 times
  • Silver Supporter Silver Supporter : Support the forums with a Silver subscription
    2023 Supporter 2023 Supporter : Donate for 2023
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3973 on: May 07, 2024, 07:58:47 PM »
Here's something interesting - playing a race using microwaves, I disabled the sensors of another player race's ship. The ship using microwaves no longer showed up on any sensors, nor any contact list, nor could the ship be targeted in the Ship Combat tab. However, since the microwave-using ship was still assigned to the other ship as a target, the other ship was still able to fire upon and damage the microwave ship. Is this intended behaviour?
 

Offline vorpal+5

  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 673
  • Thanked: 148 times
  • Silver Supporter Silver Supporter : Support the forums with a Silver subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #3974 on: May 09, 2024, 07:22:40 AM »
I often have the case where my exploration FAC tender would not want to give some of its fuel reserve to returning Survey FACs, because if it does, there won't be enough fuel for the return trip to a colony. Is it possible to alter the behavior? I have not found a checkbox or setting for this.