Author Topic: Conventional Start in 6.21  (Read 5917 times)

Offline RottenBanana (OP)

• Petty Officer
  • R
Conventional Start in 6.21
« on: January 30, 2013, 01:15:31 AM »
I've finally decided to make the jump from 5. 54 to 6. 21, but I've still only been playing for several months and this is my first time starting out as a conventional empire so I have a few questions. 

1.  What's the general procedure (starting techs, things to plan for) to starting off as a conventional empire?

2.  Is there a thread with a good explanation on the new engines? (I'm still new so I wasn't too good at making the most efficient designs)

3.  How useful are the starting missile bases? (I noticed that the range was only . 1m km and I can't imagine when they would be useful)

Offline Paul M

• Vice Admiral
  • P
Re: Conventional Start in 6.21
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2013, 03:09:15 AM »
*grumbles about deleting my reply*

1.  You first need to develop TN technology.  After that I can only suggest (shameless plug that it is) you have a look at my AAR for some idea what pitfalls lie ahead.  As I think I made every mistake imaginable. 

You need lots of minearls, it is a slow slog.  Also develop a conventional engine, and geosurvey sensors and build your first ship to survey your inner system.  You can later refit it to TN tech engines but by then your inner system will be available for exploitation.

2.  The new engines are fairly easy to understand but because of a conventional start you will have not that many options available to you.  This will give you lots of chances to explore the engines and learn about them.  Otherwise you could ask specific questions.  Just recall that you will have limited research facilities and must develop EVERYTHING so you aren't going to have many types of "applied techs" in general.