Author Topic: Quasar4x - An Aurora4x VB6 clone  (Read 164651 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kyle (OP)

  • Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • K
  • Posts: 472
  • Thanked: 973 times
  • Quasar4x dev
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #285 on: February 29, 2020, 09:54:58 AM »
Yeah, it crashes for me as well.  Stuck on Godot Logo for a few seconds, then it closes.  I deleted the appdata Godot folder too, but nothing.

Please try installing the Visual C++ 2019 redistributable [microsoft.com].  Pick one of the vc_redist .exe files in the list near the top of the page.
 
The following users thanked this post: Remon_Kewl

Offline Kyle (OP)

  • Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • K
  • Posts: 472
  • Thanked: 973 times
  • Quasar4x dev
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #286 on: February 29, 2020, 10:04:32 AM »
I've been trying to run this since I became aware of it, but the game always just stalls on startup, just showing the Godot logo.  I've already got VC 2019 installed, and I've tried repairing the installation, but that hasn't fixed anything.

Quote
Processor
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-7130U CPU @ 2. 70GHz
Manufacturer
Intel
Speed
2. 7 GHz
Number of Cores
4
RAM
8. 0 GB
Video Card
Intel(R) HD Graphics 620
Manufacturer
Chipset
Intel(R) HD Graphics 620
Dedicated Memory
128 MB
Total Memory
5. 0 GB

Try deleting %APPDATA%\Roaming\Godot\app_userdata\Quasar4x\quasar4x.sqlite and running the game again.  Save files left behind by very old versions of quasar cause more recent versions to crash.  The game is supposed to detect and replace these super old saves but it obviously isn't working.

If that doesn't work, can you send me your DxDiag output?   (Windows Key + R, dxdiag)   Use pastebin.com if too big an attachment for here.  Thanks
« Last Edit: February 29, 2020, 12:22:17 PM by Kyle »
 

Offline Remon_Kewl

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • R
  • Posts: 7
  • Thanked: 4 times
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #287 on: February 29, 2020, 11:28:02 AM »
Quote from: Kyle link=topic=10149. msg119214#msg119214 date=1582991698
Quote from: Remon_Kewl link=topic=10149. msg119208#msg119208 date=1582932104
Yeah, it crashes for me as well.   Stuck on Godot Logo for a few seconds, then it closes.   I deleted the appdata Godot folder too, but nothing.

Please try installing the Visual C++ 2019 redistributable [microsoft. com].   Pick one of the vc_redist . exe files in the list near the top of the page.

That did it, thanks.
 

Offline MasonMac

  • Registered
  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • M
  • Posts: 93
  • Thanked: 31 times
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #288 on: March 01, 2020, 01:20:29 PM »
I know that Quasar and Aurora don't keep Save Data in dynamic memory, but how (theoretically) would you do this?

I'm thinking something like (in C++):
Code: [Select]
#include <unordered_map>
#include <memory>
#include <string>

class Object;

// Inherit from Object
class Player;
class Entity;

// Inherit from Entity
class Planet;
class Unit;
// etc...

class Player : public Object
{
     /*
        The player doesn't have a list of entities so we can avoid having
        to unnecessarily allocating memory. Instead, the game will check if
        the entity's pointer points to the player:
        if (player_object == Entity.Properties->s_Player)
            return true;
    */
public:
    std::string m_Name;
}

class Entity : public Object
{
protected:
    struct Properties
    {
        Player s_Player;
    }

    Properties props;
public:
    virtual ~Entity();
    bool Erase();

    virtual bool Update() = 0;
}

class SaveData // Dynamic memory shenanigans here that I'm too lazy to code
{
private:
    struct Singleton;
public:
    ~SaveData();
    std::unordered_map<int, Entity*> m_All_Entities;

    static SaveData* GetInstance();
}   

class SaveDataHandler
{
private:
    bool UpdateAll()
    {
        for(auto& [key, val] : SaveData::GetInstance()->m_All_Entities)
        {
            if (!val->Update())
                return false;
        }

        return true;
    }
}

And the SaveDataHandler is run everytime the game needs to update a game.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2020, 01:39:07 PM by MasonMac »
 

Offline Kyle (OP)

  • Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • K
  • Posts: 472
  • Thanked: 973 times
  • Quasar4x dev
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #289 on: March 03, 2020, 10:08:02 PM »
I've been trying to run this since I became aware of it, but the game always just stalls on startup, just showing the Godot logo.  I've already got VC 2019 installed, and I've tried repairing the installation, but that hasn't fixed anything.


Hey there, i started a new thread for this
 
The following users thanked this post: joansam

Offline Kyle (OP)

  • Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • K
  • Posts: 472
  • Thanked: 973 times
  • Quasar4x dev
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #290 on: March 05, 2020, 11:37:30 AM »
Progress update 2020-03-05:

Ruins are done!  Phew, this was a hefty one.  So much RNG to sort out.






Version 92 is up.  It includes the following new stuff:

- Ruins added to system generation
- Ruins in adjacent systems are likely to come from the same ancient race
- "Alien Installation" anomalies found at ruins, or small chance to appear on their own on habitable worlds.  This was the last anomaly type left to implement.
- Geological surveys locate ruins
- Xeno teams decipher ruins, gain experience upon success
- Construction brigades and forced labor units restore abandoned factories (or fail, based on morale and any commander xeno bonus)
- Possible outcomes match A4X fairly closely, including chance of additional Technical Details
- Each ruin race has its own predetermined component designs based on its tech level

More UI elements are now functional:
- F9 > SM Random Ruin button
- F3 > Known Ruins list
- F3 > Known Wrecks list
- Class Design > Own Tech Only checkbox

Important fixes:
- Fixed crash when creating new conventional start game
- Fixed crash caused by very old save files lying around that were requiring users to manually delete them.  Very old save files are now quietly updated automatically as originally intended.
- Itch.io finally added support for specifying that the VC2019 redistributable be installed first before running Quasar through the Itch App.  I've done this but haven't verified it's working.

Where do we go from here?  AI and external scripting are very much on my mind, including a flexible and easy to use way of managing scripts. I've got a fairly solid plan for how to do it, the question is just when to get started.  (Pretty excited to share the result when its ready by the way, I think you're going to like it) There are also so many more mechanics to fill in; espionage and diplomacy are a few big ones that are most likely up next.  At some point there's going to have to be a couple "boring" progress updates for a few other things that are missing.  Fleet formations need to be done for completion's sake, even though I'm pretty sure the default "death ball" formation is the best one and formations might have a few bugs on the A4X side. Escorts are technically done but I know there are issues with them I need to fix.  Commander promotions need to be finished up. Ship NPR class type classification isn't even a visible feature but it needs to be done before AI.  I've seen a number of requests for civilians, but I feel like the silent majority (myself included) prefers that some NPR AI be in place first, if they had to choose between the two.  There are a few features I'm aware of but haven't personally experienced: POWs, Black Holes, Fast Attack Craft, Tech Data carried on Ships.  I need to research how these work and whether they are all even a thing.  I've generated thousands of systems and never seen a black hole, for example.

Hopefully this conveys some sense of what's still to be done in the game.  The awesome news is that so much other stuff *is* done, sans fixing and polish.  Oh, I know Aurora C# is around the corner, you better believe I'm chomping at the bit to play that.  Anticipation of that game was one of the huge motivators to start Quasar.  When it does come out I will of course be playing it, but will still be working on Quasar4x.  Believe it or not, I already spend some of my free time on other interests besides quasar, so all that will change is that the other interests will shift to the C# game.  :)

Now that I've gotten a chance to write out all the stuff there is left to do, I think espionage, diplomacy, and the UI for the external scripting are my next few items, in no particular order.  Onward!
 
The following users thanked this post: ExChairman, mpf0214, Remon_Kewl, joansam, Lava

Offline Garfunkel

  • Registered
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2794
  • Thanked: 1054 times
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #291 on: March 05, 2020, 11:48:43 AM »
Black Holes do exist but are only created if the "Real Stars" box is NOT ticked. Same as Nebula. If playing with Real Stars, you will never, ever encounter either. IIRC, Steve said this is because we are unaware of either near us in the Milky Way. The wiki article is accurate as far as I can tell:
http://aurorawiki.pentarch.org/index.php?title=Black_Holes
 

Offline Kyle (OP)

  • Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • K
  • Posts: 472
  • Thanked: 973 times
  • Quasar4x dev
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #292 on: March 05, 2020, 03:36:26 PM »

Black Holes do exist but are only created if the "Real Stars" box is NOT ticked. Same as Nebula. If playing with Real Stars, you will never, ever encounter either. IIRC, Steve said this is because we are unaware of either near us in the Milky Way. The wiki article is accurate as far as I can tell:
http://aurorawiki.pentarch.org/index.php?title=Black_Holes

My system generation testing file has 1616 non-known systems and no black holes  :(  Although I just noticed that the 5.50 notes actually say
Quote
These are only available in Real Stars games for the moment but I may expand that to random games as well

That would explain it...

By the way, anyone have a save file with a black hole in it they could share? :)
 

Offline Garfunkel

  • Registered
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2794
  • Thanked: 1054 times
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #293 on: March 06, 2020, 08:45:36 AM »
Uh, now I'm unsure which way it goes.

I mostly play Real/Known Stars games and I've only encountered black holes twice in my near decade of Aurora playing.
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Star Marshal
  • S
  • Posts: 11672
  • Thanked: 20451 times
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #294 on: March 06, 2020, 11:40:36 AM »
Uh, now I'm unsure which way it goes.

I mostly play Real/Known Stars games and I've only encountered black holes twice in my near decade of Aurora playing.

At the moment C# Aurora doesn't have nebula or black holes. I'll add them post-launch.
 

Offline Frick

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • ***
  • F
  • Posts: 43
  • Thanked: 14 times
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #295 on: March 07, 2020, 02:05:25 AM »
This may have been brought up, but is there a non dark mode? I am probably the only human alive who can't really do dark mode on a desktop. Also spring's coming and the sun's in the air and I'm a bit sick so I figured I could spend some time trying out this game but again, the darkness really does not work for me. :(
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Star Marshal
  • S
  • Posts: 11672
  • Thanked: 20451 times
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #296 on: March 07, 2020, 05:02:55 AM »
This may have been brought up, but is there a non dark mode? I am probably the only human alive who can't really do dark mode on a desktop. Also spring's coming and the sun's in the air and I'm a bit sick so I figured I could spend some time trying out this game but again, the darkness really does not work for me. :(

Not on launch, but I have experimented with allowing different colour background so I will probably add something in the future. Here is an example:

http://aurora2.pentarch.org/index.php?topic=8455.msg94287#msg94287

Just realised this in the Quasar thread - so not sure if you meant quasar or were replying to my previous post on C#.
 

Offline Frick

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • ***
  • F
  • Posts: 43
  • Thanked: 14 times
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #297 on: March 09, 2020, 02:40:15 AM »
This may have been brought up, but is there a non dark mode? I am probably the only human alive who can't really do dark mode on a desktop. Also spring's coming and the sun's in the air and I'm a bit sick so I figured I could spend some time trying out this game but again, the darkness really does not work for me. :(

Not on launch, but I have experimented with allowing different colour background so I will probably add something in the future. Here is an example:

http://aurora2.pentarch.org/index.php?topic=8455.msg94287#msg94287

Just realised this in the Quasar thread - so not sure if you meant quasar or were replying to my previous post on C#.

I've been meaning to ask that about C# Aurora as well, so thanks! :) Looks good.

Quasars dark mode is really dark though, proper modern dark.
 

Offline zmionash

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • z
  • Posts: 3
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #298 on: March 12, 2020, 01:35:24 AM »
Will there be support for 1366x768 screen resolutions .  Or the ability to adjust the window size.  I was so interested in your work , but I can 't use it because I cut off part of the working area of the screen .  apologize for the literacy, wrote to you with the help of an online translator.
 

Offline Kyle (OP)

  • Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • K
  • Posts: 472
  • Thanked: 973 times
  • Quasar4x dev
Re: Quasar4x - An early look at an Aurora4x clone in the works
« Reply #299 on: March 13, 2020, 03:31:19 PM »
Progress update 2020-03-13:

Version 97 is up.  No singular milestone to report, but this version contains dozens of important fixes reported in pages 4 through 6 of the bug thread.  One fix I'd like to highlight was adding "refresh-all" like behavior to about 150+ controls that still didn't have it.  As mentioned awhile ago one of my goals it to make the Refresh All button obsolete, by making the sure the entire UI is updated whenever anything is changed.  If it sounds like this will make the UI feel slow, remember that all the animations I've posted in the past have a full UI Refresh and save-to-disk done every frame. 

Here are some new things in this build:
- added the transfer of JP, system, and survey data to the list of things that happens when a race's last population surrenders
- finished the remaining types of automatic commander assignments
- morale, crew grade, and task force logistics bonus inversely affects maintenance failure rate
- parasites can reload box launchers on motherships (only)
- flag ship module functional and thus task forces can be stationed on ships
- task forces affect their ships that are in the same system (only)
- task force fighter ops bonus improves box launcher reload rate (dodged the bug in A4X where it makes the rate worse, not better)
- task force survey bonus improves grav survey rates
- task force training bonus improves PDC training rates
- task force training bonus improves (and is required for) fleets in Task Force Training mode
- crew grade affects TF training rates
- TF training rate halved for ships whose commander equals the TF commander in rank, fifthed if ship commander outranks TF commander
(Other TF bonuses were already done. In general, task forces should be feature complete now.)

More UI elements are now implemented:
- F2 Mining Tab: Est. Annual Mineral Use for Maint Facilities
- F9: Delete System
- Task Force window: Move to Population, Move to Flagship, and the corresponding Save buttons.  This finishes the Task Force window.
- Transfer System Knowledge window: Goto System button, Transfer button, JP Data checkbox, and System Body Survey Data checkbox.  This finishes the window.
(Delete system and the Transfer Knowledge button are pretty hefty additions)


So whats next?  Here's what my short list looks like:
- Duty-based skill ups for commanders
- Surface temperature drops caused by dust
- SM Update Atmos button and any other climate change mechanics I can uncover
- Fleet training moves (the bonus increase from TF Training should already be working now)
- Diplomacy things
- Espionage things
- Escorts (groundwork in place but buggy/broken)
- Foreign aid
- Negative wealth impact
- Fleet threat protection axes
- POWs
- Fast Attack Craft (need to research what the special mechanics are, if any, for 500-1000 ton ships)
- Tech Data on Ships
- NPR Class Type classification (not visible, but assigned in database upon designing a ship class, and important prereq for AI)
- UI and infrastructure for external scripting

Regarding 1366x768 and alternate themes, that's on my long list, probably won't be considered til the AI scripting features are done.

And someday... someday I'll be ready for AI things.  I don't need things to be completely polished and finished before I start that, but as you can see there are still some obvious gaps to fill first before we're there.


« Last Edit: March 13, 2020, 03:42:39 PM by Kyle »
 
The following users thanked this post: Demonides, ExChairman, Akhillis, tws029, mpf0214, obsidian_green, Remon_Kewl, Gram123, joansam, Lava