Author Topic: Minor Ship Design Problem  (Read 474 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline IanD (OP)

  • Registered
  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 672
  • Thanked: 14 times
Minor Ship Design Problem
« on: May 03, 2020, 05:30:54 AM »
Not a game breaker just annoying. I was updating and enlarging an existing design. First I copied the existing design, enlarged it by 5000 tons, then renamed it and went to change the class designation from cruiser to heavy cruiser. I then got:-

Function #235: Cannot add or insert the item 'Hawk Mk2' in more than one place. You must first remove it from its current location or clone it. Parameter name: node.

The new design was then deleted

But I had cloned it and renamed it. I get the same result if I don't rename it but just clone it (copy design) with or without design changes. Most importantly I was not trying to move Hawk Mk2 but a renamed clone.

Game version 1.9.3
« Last Edit: May 03, 2020, 05:32:30 AM by IanD »
IanD
 

Offline Pedroig

  • Lieutenant
  • *******
  • P
  • Posts: 186
  • Thanked: 46 times
Re: Minor Ship Design Problem
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2020, 06:30:57 AM »
I've always done Copy Design=>Change Class->Rename->Modify without problems, so it might be an order of operations issue.
si vis pacem, para bellum
 

Offline IanD (OP)

  • Registered
  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 672
  • Thanked: 14 times
Re: Minor Ship Design Problem
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2020, 06:35:34 AM »
After the next turn increment I got a Function #1420 An object reference not set to the instance of an object.

All three new designs I had attempted to move then turned up in the correct location. Not a clue what was going on or why. The only other action was the discovery of a new system (Gliese 1), but I doubt that had anything to do with it.

Edit
I tried copy then change class but got the same result.

Edit 2
I tried moving one of the designs from Heavy Cruiser to Strike cruiser and got the Function #235 again. After a turn increment The moved design appeared in the new class. This time no other Function appeared.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2020, 06:41:52 AM by IanD »
IanD
 

Online Migi

  • Lieutenant
  • *******
  • Posts: 184
  • Thanked: 56 times
Re: Minor Ship Design Problem
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2020, 07:16:51 AM »
I had a similar bug in 1.8.0 but Steve couldn't reproduce it.
I had some trouble getting the exact circumstances to reproduce it, then when Steve asked for more information it showed up with a different class.
I had a hunch that it was because I was using a non-standard hull type.

If you refresh the class list by ticking or unticking either of the checkboxes at the bottom then the ship should re-appear.
 

Offline QuakeIV

  • Registered
  • Captain
  • **********
  • Posts: 546
  • Thanked: 104 times
Re: Minor Ship Design Problem
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2020, 02:29:51 AM »
It specifically has to do with changing the designation of a class that already existed.  It goes like this:

-Open class designer.

-Make new class.

-Close and re-open designer.

-Change designation of the new class.

-Error ensues.

The class is actually still there, if you reload the designer again then you will see it.

I reported it a couple times already but its been ignored so far (to be fair its pretty minor, it doesn't actually delete the class).

The other thing is the error will refer to the preceding class (whichever is directly above it in the list), rather than the one you are actually modifying.
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72