Author Topic: Vista Installation issues  (Read 1463 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline VoidStalker

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • V
  • Posts: 4
Vista Installation issues
« on: January 12, 2009, 10:12:09 PM »
Heh heh, I'm still wandering around the site exploring....

After much dl'ing and updating, I still have the msstdfmt.dll problem (it says its in, but fails some test or other) - I hate vista - but, I do have an xp machine, and will attempt to set up aurora on that computer and see what I can see.  Still being new, I have yet to see what others did to get their vista machines to play nicely, so a point in the right direction would be well received.  I have to say I am quite impressed with what I am reading here, and hope to actually get aurora up and running when time permits.
 

Offline jfelten

  • Lieutenant
  • *******
  • j
  • Posts: 187
Re: Group Membership
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2009, 10:03:16 AM »
Quote from: "VoidStalker"
Heh heh, I'm still wandering around the site exploring....

After much dl'ing and updating, I still have the msstdfmt.dll problem (it says its in, but fails some test or other) - I hate vista - but, I do have an xp machine, and will attempt to set up aurora on that computer and see what I can see.  Still being new, I have yet to see what others did to get their vista machines to play nicely, so a point in the right direction would be well received.  I have to say I am quite impressed with what I am reading here, and hope to actually get aurora up and running when time permits.

I don't think you posted this in the right place.  Try the "getting aurora to work" thread.  I wouldn't touch microsoft vista with a 10 foot pole but I recall noticing some people getting Aurora to work with vista there by registering a particular DLL or such.  Good luck.
 

Offline Brian

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1213
  • Thanked: 2 times
Re: Group Membership
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2009, 10:30:01 AM »
I had no trouble getting aurora to run in vista.  Where I had a problem was with updating the program.  Because of vista's built in protections I can not just copy the file over into the directory.  I had to first delete the old file, empty the recycle bin and then copy the new files (Stevefire.mdb and Aurora.exe) in.  Once that was done the first thing I did upon opening aurora was to compact the database.  This actually seemed to fix all the problems I was having.

Good luck to you.  I never had a problem with a specific dll.

Brian
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5117
  • Thanked: 107 times
    • Arkayn Game Design
Re: Group Membership
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 01:56:49 PM »
I ran on Vista with no issues. Not even the "delete and really delete" the exe one. But then, I was running as full admin, and Aurora.exe was running as admin also.
 

Offline welchbloke

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 986
  • Thanked: 1 times
Re: Group Membership
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2009, 02:29:07 PM »
Did you run the register32 with admin rights?  I had issues until I ran the register programme with full admin rights.
Welchbloke
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5117
  • Thanked: 107 times
    • Arkayn Game Design
Re: Vista Installation issues
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2009, 06:57:08 PM »
I split the topic and moved it to the Installation forum :)
 

Offline IanD

  • Registered
  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 612
  • Thanked: 5 times
Re: Vista Installation issues
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2009, 12:52:25 PM »
I currently use Vista and for what its worth I run Aurora from a folder on my desktop. I have failed to run it in the more conventional form off the C drive for several versions now.

PS Aurora thinks I am running v4.25, but my task manager thinks its v4.24. Is this what every one else sees?

regards
IanD
 

Offline Haegan2005

  • BTS! Playtesters
  • Commander
  • **
  • Posts: 320
    • http://home.grandecom.net/~silkexpressions/WarStars.htm
Re: Vista Installation issues
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2009, 01:36:43 PM »
I fixed it by pasting the msstdfmt.dll into the Auroa working directory. Now this was on XP, but it should work for Vista.
 

Offline goodchild

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • g
  • Posts: 1
Re: Vista Installation issues
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2010, 10:15:49 PM »
I'm unable to install Aurora on my Vista machine, upon launching the setup I get "Error writing to logfile 'C:\WINDOWS\ST6UNST.005'  and then an "Unexpected Setup Error" and the install stops.
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • S
  • Posts: 6909
  • Thanked: 1663 times
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Vista Installation issues
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2010, 09:15:44 AM »
Quote from: "goodchild"
I'm unable to install Aurora on my Vista machine, upon launching the setup I get "Error writing to logfile 'C:\WINDOWS\ST6UNST.005'  and then an "Unexpected Setup Error" and the install stops.
Any Vista users able to comment on this one? It's not something I have seen before.

Steve
 

Offline Arwyn

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • A
  • Posts: 235
  • Thanked: 4 times
Re: Vista Installation issues
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2010, 12:57:11 PM »
Quote from: "goodchild"
I'm unable to install Aurora on my Vista machine, upon launching the setup I get "Error writing to logfile 'C:\WINDOWS\ST6UNST.005'  and then an "Unexpected Setup Error" and the install stops.


I had this issue as well. I run Vista 64 bit, and for me, I had antivirus stomping the install due to the way it was seeing the VB script. I run Kapersky, and I had to disable the AV, then run the Aurora install. Once Aurora was installed, I had no problems running the updates.

You might check your antivirus, and you may need to run the install as administrator if it still throws errors.
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52