Author Topic: Wrecks and Salvage and a Ruin question :D  (Read 1083 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline davros17

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • d
  • Posts: 3
Wrecks and Salvage and a Ruin question :D
« on: June 22, 2011, 06:57:18 AM »
Another noob question.

Salvaged a ship and got lots of components which I then took back and droped off.  But how do I see what I have found and can I back engineer stuff or use the components?

Also Ruins - its xeno teams first then engineers later is that correct?
 

Offline chrislocke2000

  • Captain
  • **********
  • c
  • Posts: 476
  • Thanked: 20 times
Re: Wrecks and Salvage and a Ruin question :D
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2011, 09:36:24 AM »
in the industry tab there is a stockpiles tab in the top right corner that lists all of your components, missile stock etc and you can access salvaged components from there. On that screen you can pull apart components and if they are a higher tech then your own they will contribute RPs towards your next level in the associated tech(s).

Correct on the xeno then engineers.
 

Offline Brian

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1214
  • Thanked: 2 times
Re: Wrecks and Salvage and a Ruin question :D
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2011, 11:36:59 AM »
An important little thing to note about dissasembling higher tech items to boost your tech is that any 1 item dissasembled will give you approximately 1/40th of the points needed to get to the next tech.  If you are more than 1 tech behind and you want to get the maximum benifit from the salvaged item then you need to first upgrade your tech untill you are 1 tech behind that of the item.  An example would be if you salvaged a bunch of 25cm V5/C5 railguns.  If your current tech is 15cm V3/C3 then you would want to upgrade to the 20cm V4/C4.  Using numbers that are just memory the 20cm V4/C4 needs about 8,000rp for each part while the 25cm V5/C5 needs 15,000rp for the corresponding tech levels.  If you get 1/40th of the points you need then this would be 200 points vs 350 points. 

A couple of points about dissasembling items.  Make sure you do not have any of the relevent tech being researched, or in a research que.  After each time you get a message that you have successfully finished a tech make sure you do at least 1 5 second turn before continuing.  Also make a copy of the database before starting to dissasemble the items.  These things will prevent a major bug normally, or at least allow you to recover without having lost a lot of time.  The bug invovled will occasionally completely delete the colony at which the items are being dissassembled.  THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM.  That you probably do not want to have to deal with.

Brian
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Star Marshal
  • S
  • Posts: 7582
  • Thanked: 3309 times
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Wrecks and Salvage and a Ruin question :D
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2011, 12:46:56 PM »
A couple of points about dissasembling items.  Make sure you do not have any of the relevent tech being researched, or in a research que.  After each time you get a message that you have successfully finished a tech make sure you do at least 1 5 second turn before continuing.  Also make a copy of the database before starting to dissasemble the items.  These things will prevent a major bug normally, or at least allow you to recover without having lost a lot of time.  The bug invovled will occasionally completely delete the colony at which the items are being dissassembled.  THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM.  That you probably do not want to have to deal with.

You will be glad to hear this bug is fixed in v5.50 :)

Steve
 

Offline Brian

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1214
  • Thanked: 2 times
Re: Wrecks and Salvage and a Ruin question :D
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2011, 01:57:57 PM »
YAY, thats a great help with ruins.  I was getting a little tired of having an important/home world dissapear.

Brian
 

Offline Iamwinterborn

  • Petty Officer
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Wrecks and Salvage and a Ruin question :D
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2011, 08:59:46 AM »
You will be glad to hear this bug is fixed in v5.50 :)

Steve

Pfft.

Clearly catering to the noobs who have overrun the forum, this getting rid of the Assiti Shards feature...  ;)
 

Offline Thiosk

  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 784
  • Thanked: 1 times
Re: Wrecks and Salvage and a Ruin question :D
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2011, 12:16:02 PM »
hey, i represent that remark
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54