Author Topic: SwarmColonyProduction on Win 7 65bit  (Read 2869 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jikor (OP)

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • Posts: 81
SwarmColonyProduction on Win 7 65bit
« on: October 08, 2011, 08:41:07 PM »
Hello,

Got this error and checked that everything was installed correctly (ran installer as admin, unzipped files etc)

Looking into it more I see the game is trying to make a call to a non existant registry entry

HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\CTF\KnownClasses


Can't play that gam anymore. . .

Started a new game with no swarm so we will see if it occurrs (or another similar oe anyway).
 

Offline Erik L

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5534
  • Thanked: 291 times
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter : Support the forums with a Bronze subscription
    Silver Supporter Silver Supporter : Support the forums with a Silver subscription
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Re: SwarmColonyProduction on Win 7 65bit
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2011, 09:12:33 PM »
Hello,

Got this error and checked that everything was installed correctly (ran installer as admin, unzipped files etc)

Looking into it more I see the game is trying to make a call to a non existant registry entry

HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\CTF\KnownClasses


Can't play that gam anymore. . .

Started a new game with no swarm so we will see if it occurrs (or another similar oe anyway).


As far as I know, the game does not make any registry entries beyond installation information. FWIW, I'm on Win7 64 bit and never had that issue. Did you install in the Program Files directory?
 

Offline Jikor (OP)

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • Posts: 81
Re: SwarmColonyProduction on Win 7 65bit
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2011, 09:32:02 PM »
No.  I installed it to C:\Games\Aurora\

Didn't see any mention of it needing any specific libraries (. net etc) but those are all up to date. 
Really don't know what it's looking for as that is a pretty general key.
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Star Marshal
  • S
  • Posts: 10385
  • Thanked: 12405 times
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: SwarmColonyProduction on Win 7 65bit
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2011, 07:25:36 AM »
I have created a small program that will correct the database and prevent this bug from occurring. Download the program into your Aurora directory and run it. This will fix your saved game.

http://www.pentarch.org/steve/DBCorrect.exe (25k)

Steve
 

Offline Din182

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • D
  • Posts: 145
Re: SwarmColonyProduction on Win 7 65bit
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2011, 12:50:59 PM »
Thanks Steve. I haven't encountered the bug, but better safe than sorry. You should put it somewhere obvious, so people can find it don't spam you saying "I got a bug in SwarmColonyProduction. FIX NAO!"

EDIT: Nevermind. You did put it somewhere obvious.
Invader Fleet #13090 has notified Fleet Command that it intendeds to Unload Trade Goods at Earth!
 

Offline Thiosk

  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 784
  • Thanked: 1 times
Re: SwarmColonyProduction on Win 7 65bit
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2011, 03:17:11 AM »
Was having Jikor's investigation link that led to the registry call instrumental in being able to solve this one so blindingly quickly?
 

Offline Jikor (OP)

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • Posts: 81
Re: SwarmColonyProduction on Win 7 65bit
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2011, 01:07:32 AM »
Thank you for the update. 
Just noticed I had atrocious spelling and typo's in the original post.  Guess that's what you get for submitting bugs at 4 in the morning.
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Star Marshal
  • S
  • Posts: 10385
  • Thanked: 12405 times
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: SwarmColonyProduction on Win 7 65bit
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2011, 04:52:12 PM »
Was having Jikor's investigation link that led to the registry call instrumental in being able to solve this one so blindingly quickly?

It was already solved a while ago. It was because it involved a database change that I hadn't released an update.

Steve
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77