Author Topic: Completely broken game  (Read 3035 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rawb

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • R
  • Posts: 56
Completely broken game
« on: November 22, 2011, 01:40:53 PM »
I know this should be in bugs be w/e it's not letting me post it there.

Basically, had this 3201 error constantly, couldn't do anything had to shut game down and reboot every 30 day increment. Followed advice from another 3201 thread to get the database from the install files now nothing works, 3265 errors everywhere.

What happened?
 

Offline TheDeadlyShoe

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1238
  • Thanked: 50 times
  • Dance Commander
Re: Completely broken game
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2011, 08:26:28 PM »
are you running in windows 7?

what precisely was the error?

have you run other games successfully?

 

Offline Rawb

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • R
  • Posts: 56
Re: Completely broken game
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2011, 04:20:48 AM »
Yes

Error in form load
3265 generated by DAO.Fields
Item not found in this collection

Yes
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • S
  • Posts: 7190
  • Thanked: 2233 times
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Completely broken game
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2011, 08:46:37 AM »
Yes

Error in form load
3265 generated by DAO.Fields
Item not found in this collection

Yes

This error means the executable file can't find something in the database it was expecting to find. It sounds like you are trying to connect to a database version that doesn't match the version of the executable file. Make sure you have the latest versions of both Aurora.exe and Stevefire.mdb

Steve
 

Offline Janster

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • J
  • Posts: 2
Re: Completely broken game
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2011, 11:58:52 PM »
Getting DAO errors here too.  I guess its just not being maintained anymore.

As it is now, its 100% non-working condition :(

Wanted to try it . .
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5158
  • Thanked: 117 times
  • Discord Username: icehawke
Re: Completely broken game
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2011, 12:19:18 AM »
Getting DAO errors here too.  I guess its just not being maintained anymore.

As it is now, its 100% non-working condition :(

Wanted to try it . .

The post right above yours was from the developer, so I don't think "not being maintained" is appropriate. And with more details on the errors and installation, you will get help. As it is, posts like this are likely to draw flames.

[ooc]If anyone does so, I will hand out a 2 day suspension. So don't.[/ooc]
 

Offline Felixg

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • ***
  • F
  • Posts: 46
Re: Completely broken game
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2012, 11:59:01 AM »
I am having this problem  as well, I used a fresh install and upgraded to 5. 60, got pretty far into a game (about 75 years) then these errors started to hit and made the game unplayable.

I would fresh install but is there any way I can copy my save data over from one game to the other so I dont loose everything? Or do I need to use SM mode to put myself back at the level I was at?
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5158
  • Thanked: 117 times
  • Discord Username: icehawke
Re: Completely broken game
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2012, 03:04:35 PM »
I am having this problem  as well, I used a fresh install and upgraded to 5. 60, got pretty far into a game (about 75 years) then these errors started to hit and made the game unplayable.

I would fresh install but is there any way I can copy my save data over from one game to the other so I dont loose everything? Or do I need to use SM mode to put myself back at the level I was at?

Copy the stevefire.mdb file to a safe place, reinstall then copy your saved stevefire.mdb file back to the game directory.
 

Offline Felixg

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • ***
  • F
  • Posts: 46
Re: Completely broken game
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2012, 09:21:33 PM »
Quote from: Erik Luken link=topic=4380. msg45384#msg45384 date=1326402275
Copy the stevefire. mdb file to a safe place, reinstall then copy your saved stevefire. mdb file back to the game directory.

I tried that on a fresh install and the same error keeps spamming me repeatedly
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5158
  • Thanked: 117 times
  • Discord Username: icehawke
Re: Completely broken game
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2012, 11:09:23 AM »
I tried that on a fresh install and the same error keeps spamming me repeatedly

As Steve pointed out above, the executable cannot find something in the database it needs.
 

Offline ollobrains

  • Commander
  • *********
  • o
  • Posts: 380
Re: Completely broken game
« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2012, 12:15:28 AM »
yeah sometimes when u go to pickup something that isnt there instead of the order being cancelled and player being notified it generates the error that said just clicking ok a couple of time generally stops it
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54