Author Topic: SA Install files?  (Read 3492 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Edsel (OP)

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • E
  • Posts: 66
SA Install files?
« on: May 15, 2007, 06:26:54 PM »
Are the installation files for Starfire Assistant still available online somewhere? I have the most up-to-date copy but a friend of mine is wanting it and the email attachment is far too big for either of our mailboxes.

Thanks, Eddie
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Edsel »
 

Offline Edsel (OP)

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • E
  • Posts: 66
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2007, 08:39:52 AM »
After a through search of my files I have found that I have the version 6.0 install files and I have the patch (just a starfire.exe file) for versions 7.01 and 7.02.

So can we install version 6.0 and then apply the patch for 7.02 and get a version that works that way? Of course I also have a copy of the needed database for the latest version.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Edsel »
 

Offline Erik L

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5425
  • Thanked: 236 times
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2007, 10:16:42 AM »
If you go to http://http://sa.pentarch.org you will be able to update to 6.92. The only other install file I see is www.pentarch.org/aurorafiles/SAFiles/Starfire.zip which is only the database (and I'm unsure what version).
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Erik Luken »
 

Offline Edsel (OP)

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • E
  • Posts: 66
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2007, 11:22:53 AM »
Thanks, between that site, and the links on it, I think that I now have everything I need.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Edsel »
 

Offline coldsteel

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 101
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2007, 04:42:44 PM »
Eddie, you can upload files up to a gig at www.yousendit.com and send a download link via email. It's a free utility.


Hey, want to get a game or four in some weekend? I'm in Tulsa.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by coldsteel »
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
<chug>
 

Offline Edsel (OP)

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • E
  • Posts: 66
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2007, 08:30:58 AM »
Thanks for the link, pretty handy.

Travel outside of Oklahoma City isn't really an option for me right now. I am the caregiver for my elderly mother so it is difficult to make arrangement to be that far away for even a little while.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Edsel »
 

Offline coldsteel

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 101
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2007, 04:46:21 PM »
Quote from: "Edsel"
Thanks for the link, pretty handy.

Travel outside of Oklahoma City isn't really an option for me right now. I am the caregiver for my elderly mother so it is difficult to make arrangement to be that far away for even a little while.


There's shops and such in OKC. Only problems I'd have with going there's gas price$ and the kids. Having trouble finding another daycare provider. My kids were in that daycare that was shut down Thursday due to a little kid dying, and there's a major trust issue for now...
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by coldsteel »
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
<chug>
 

Offline Edsel (OP)

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • E
  • Posts: 66
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2007, 09:27:24 PM »
I am about to start a new campaign using SA 7.02. I will be running the game and two of my friends will be playing. One of them lives in Tulsa the other is down here in Oklahoma City. Starting at HT5 with each race having two jumps of pre-existing empire.

We pretty much decided to keep the game small, just the two players, since our last game with six players got really slowed down. Having to trade off the database that much causes a lot of lag. It ground to a halt after about 80 turns or so.

Personally I am not adverse to the idea of having a three-player game but my two friends would have to clear it first. If you are interested I can ask them.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Edsel »
 

Offline coldsteel

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 101
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2007, 06:24:34 AM »
Quote from: "Edsel"
I am about to start a new campaign using SA 7.02. I will be running the game and two of my friends will be playing. One of them lives in Tulsa the other is down here in Oklahoma City. Starting at HT5 with each race having two jumps of pre-existing empire.

We pretty much decided to keep the game small, just the two players, since our last game with six players got really slowed down. Having to trade off the database that much causes a lot of lag. It ground to a halt after about 80 turns or so.

Personally I am not adverse to the idea of having a three-player game but my two friends would have to clear it first. If you are interested I can ask them.


Sure. That'd help my fellow Tulsan with traveling for a battle or scrounging an opponent. :-)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by coldsteel »
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
<chug>
 

Offline kdstubbs

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • k
  • Posts: 81
Starfire Assistant Software
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2007, 09:42:20 AM »
I know I asked for help earlier, but things have been rather crazy in my life.  Had to move 1500 miles to a new job, had my laptop stolen, and so I've lost SFA 7.02.  Trying to get it back.  I have found and loaded version 6.0, but still need the patches to restore all the reeally cool functionality Steve had develped.  

I would really appreciate it if someone could tell me how to get the software.  

kevin
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by kdstubbs »
Kevin Stubbs
 

Offline coldsteel

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 101
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2007, 12:02:15 AM »
KD, shoot me an email offlist. See what I can do for ya.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by coldsteel »
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
<chug>
 

Offline kdstubbs

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • k
  • Posts: 81
SFA software
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2007, 06:15:42 PM »
Can't get the email system to work on this system.  My email is kevin.stubbs@att.net

Kevin
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by kdstubbs »
Kevin Stubbs
 

Offline coldsteel

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 101
Re: SFA software
« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2007, 08:33:48 PM »
Quote from: "kdstubbs"
Can't get the email system to work on this system.  My email is kevin.stubbs@att.net

Kevin


OK, as long as you can handle a just-under-5MB file, on the way.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by coldsteel »
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oi oi oi!
<chug>
 

Offline kdstubbs

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • k
  • Posts: 81
SFA software
« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2007, 06:25:24 PM »
Five megs is no problem
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by kdstubbs »
Kevin Stubbs
 

Offline Tregonsee

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 104
Re: SA Install files?
« Reply #14 on: November 28, 2008, 08:05:54 PM »
I think a need a patch or patches for 6.4 or 6.6.  I have a disk from a friend with all of his files.  I downloaded 6.0, then moved over the starfire.exe, starfire.mdb, and the reports from the disk.  I got a error 3044 with a path file that he must of used on his computer and then a lot of error 92s.

What do I need to do?

Steve G
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72