Author Topic: Increasing size of shipyards  (Read 1332 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ExChairman

  • Captain
  • **********
  • E
  • Posts: 424
  • Thanked: 3 times
Increasing size of shipyards
« on: November 15, 2012, 11:38:16 PM »
I got a military shipyard with four slipways and wants to increase their size by 10000 tons. This will take 6 years :o, 1.5 years per slipway, dont they expand at the same time?? Or do I have to expand one first, then the second, and so on??
Veni, Vedi, Volvo
"Granström"

Wargame player and Roleplayer for 33 years...
 

Offline Conscript Gary

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • Posts: 246
  • Thanked: 11 times
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2012, 12:17:31 AM »
Expansion is done per-shipyard. All of its slipways will always be the same size, so after that year and a half all four slipways will be 10,000 tons larger
 

Offline Nathan_

  • Pulsar 4x Dev
  • Commodore
  • *
  • N
  • Posts: 701
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2012, 02:38:18 AM »
upgrade the shipyard in small increments, the increments will then add their mod rate to the speed at which additional upgrades go through.
 

Offline Havear

  • Lieutenant
  • *******
  • H
  • Posts: 175
  • Thanked: 7 times
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2012, 07:10:52 AM »
I'm pretty sure it doesn't matter as I've cancelled ongoing expansion and it changed to show a partial expansion.
 

Offline Falcon

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • ***
  • F
  • Posts: 30
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2012, 07:32:59 AM »
The larger a shipyard is, the faster it can expand itself. So if you increase it from 10k to 20k in one go, it's going to take quite a bit longer then increasing the size in steps of 1k. I think that stopping an expansion will give you the 'size' that has already been built, but that size isn't active during the project itself.
 

Offline metalax

  • Commander
  • *********
  • m
  • Posts: 355
  • Thanked: 4 times
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2012, 07:39:47 AM »
Of course you can just use continual capacity expansion, which increases the actual size of the shipyard each construction tick, which leads to faster expansion on the next tick and so on.
 

Offline Falcon

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • ***
  • F
  • Posts: 30
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2012, 09:15:31 AM »
But that leads to non-round shipyard sizes! What kind of an obsesive-compulsive empire builder are you if you allow that?!  :)
 

Offline strych90

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • ***
  • s
  • Posts: 49
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2012, 09:26:34 AM »
I generally leave continual expansion on for everything (including commercials) but my dedicated frigate or FAC yards.  It does bother me to not have the round numbers, but I ignore it and soldier on.  After a few years I can build everything I would possibly want, and can put out some truly large mega freighter/colonizers/terraformers.  The expansion takes a bit of a bite out of the economy early game but I think its worth it.
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • S
  • Posts: 7192
  • Thanked: 2241 times
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2012, 08:21:26 AM »
But that leads to non-round shipyard sizes! What kind of an obsesive-compulsive empire builder are you if you allow that?!  :)

LOL, that is exactly why I don't tend to use continual expansion. Thought it was just me with OCD :)

Steve
 

Offline Jorgen_CAB

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • J
  • Posts: 854
  • Thanked: 15 times
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2012, 08:32:02 AM »
LOL, that is exactly why I don't tend to use continual expansion. Thought it was just me with OCD :)

Steve

I could not agree more. I used the continual expansion once in a game and it drove me insane.  :)
 

Offline Jumpp

  • Lieutenant
  • *******
  • J
  • Posts: 186
  • Thanked: 1 times
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2012, 08:41:20 AM »
Good heavens.  I imagined I was the only crazy one.   Nice to know I have company.
 

Offline madpraxis

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • m
  • Posts: 64
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2012, 07:56:39 PM »
Nopers, you aren't the only one. I have never, ever used continual expansion just for that one reason alone :D I also tend to make all the installations round numbers too...alien runes drive me nuts sometimes...(oh gots! a construction factory is found! Noooo, need to build 99 more!)
 

Offline Conscript Gary

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • Posts: 246
  • Thanked: 11 times
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2012, 08:41:05 PM »
Setting a size limit ala atmospheric gas levels would certainly be peachy for that purpose
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5159
  • Thanked: 117 times
  • Discord Username: icehawke
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2012, 09:08:59 PM »
I think a better option would be "Build to xxxx capacity". Then all you do is set your capacity and go.
 

Offline madpraxis

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • m
  • Posts: 64
Re: Increasing size of shipyards
« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2012, 07:04:27 PM »
Yes, that would be highly desirable.
Steve! Make a note of this!  ;)
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54