Author Topic: Space Stations  (Read 3374 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline shoobs

  • Petty Officer
  • **
  • s
  • Posts: 25
Space Stations
« on: June 22, 2013, 09:40:26 PM »
What is the best way to get a good space station set up at a jump point without necessarily making the space station itself mobile.   I am intending to make it a choke point in case a rival turns hostile.
 

Online Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5241
  • Thanked: 132 times
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
Re: Space Stations
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2013, 10:02:32 PM »
If it has no engines of its own, the only way is by tug.
 

Offline joeclark77

  • Commander
  • *********
  • j
  • Posts: 359
  • Thanked: 3 times
Re: Space Stations
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2013, 10:27:01 PM »
I've thought about this and can't for the life of me figure out what the advantages are over using a "gate monitor" type of ship (as Steve uses in a few of his fictions).  The space station idea seems like it would be something you could just place and forget, say with 10 years of intended deployment, but honestly you'd just end up seeing the weapons go obsolete and wonder why you spent so many build points on something big and immobile that can't be used for alternate purposes (and that the enemy will not be surprised by twice).  Instead just design a ship with 2+ years of deployment time that has lots of short-range energy weapons, with maybe only one engine and a little fuel storage.  That'll allow you to move it to a jump point, ambush anybody that comes through, and move under its own power if needed elsewhere or if it's time for maintenance/refit.  Or, just make it a regular thing that when new energy ships enter your fleet, the second-newest models get rotated to jump point duty, and the third-newest get scrapped or recycled.
 

Offline shoobs

  • Petty Officer
  • **
  • s
  • Posts: 25
Re: Space Stations
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2013, 10:34:26 PM »
I was honestly thinking of a ship that has a recreational module, a fuel storage module, a hanger bay, a maintenance bay and possibly, if it exists, mineral storage and construction capacities.   Basically, a potential station set up as a planet building its own ships. . .
 

Offline Brian

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1214
  • Thanked: 2 times
Re: Space Stations
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2013, 05:22:55 AM »
I was honestly thinking of a ship that has a recreational module, a fuel storage module, a hanger bay, a maintenance bay and possibly, if it exists, mineral storage and construction capacities.   Basically, a potential station set up as a planet building its own ships. . .
For the recreational and maintenance modules to work the ship mounting them needs to be in orbit of something.  This can be an asteroid or comet, but it does need to have that orbital connection.  The problem with this is if you want the ship on top of the jump point.  There is almost no chance that a jump point will be close enough to any orbital realestate to be able to use the modules.  The closest you are probably going to get is a jump point defense force, and a resource extraction force that is somewhere insystem.

Put the recreational module, a few maintenance modules on the ship.  Have a few auto-mines and factories and set them to making maintenance supplies.  5 modules would allow the basing of FAC's at the resource base.  When an enemy sticks their head into the system you can have a few energy armed ships sitting on the jump point to handle small attacks.  With a large attack the FAC's can sortie from in system and attack with missiles.

Brian
 

Offline shoobs

  • Petty Officer
  • **
  • s
  • Posts: 25
Re: Space Stations
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2013, 04:09:32 PM »
Unfortunately my system underwent a blue screen of death when I hit 5 days and now the game is unsalvageable due to system resource corruption... new games are also fubar'd.  :(
 

Offline SpikeTheHobbitMage

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • S
  • Posts: 121
  • Thanked: 14 times
Re: Space Stations
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2013, 01:48:40 PM »
Unfortunately my system underwent a blue screen of death when I hit 5 days and now the game is unsalvageable due to system resource corruption... new games are also fubar'd.  :(
Ouch.  A couple of things to try after backing up your save file:
As an administrator, run 'sfc /scannow' at the command line.
Download and run JETCOMP.exe from http://support.microsoft.com/kb/295334
JETCOMP.exe is also included in AcidWeb's Portable Launcher Utility. http://aurora2.pentarch.org/index.php/board,191.0.html
PLU also automatically backs up your save file.
 

Offline shoobs

  • Petty Officer
  • **
  • s
  • Posts: 25
Re: Space Stations
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2013, 04:24:53 PM »
I am not sure what these things are and thus ask you to explain what the links and programs do before I click on it.  Even so, I have already replaced the .mdb file and lost everything so I can actually continue playing with a new game.
 

Online Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5241
  • Thanked: 132 times
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
Re: Space Stations
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2013, 04:48:37 PM »
I am not sure what these things are and thus ask you to explain what the links and programs do before I click on it.  Even so, I have already replaced the .mdb file and lost everything so I can actually continue playing with a new game.

If you use the portable launcher utility, or my back up utility, you'll have a backup of your game. Both are in sub-forums of the Installation forum here.
 

Offline SpikeTheHobbitMage

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • S
  • Posts: 121
  • Thanked: 14 times
Re: Space Stations
« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2013, 05:49:30 PM »
sfc is Microsoft's System File Checker.  It is part of Windows.  Its purpose is to scan for damaged or missing operating system files.  BSOD can sometimes be fixed by this.

JETCOMP is Microsoft's JET database compression and repair utility.  It can repair damaged mdb files.  It sometimes works on files that MS Access itself can't open.

The Portable Launcher, and Erik's Backup Utility automatically copy your savegame file every time you start Aurora.  You only need one or the other.  PL also runs JETCOMP and checks for other common install errors, such as missing or incorrect dlls.
 

Offline shoobs

  • Petty Officer
  • **
  • s
  • Posts: 25
Re: Space Stations
« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2013, 06:04:04 PM »
Thank you.
 

Offline HartLord

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Surrender... or die trying.
Re: Space Stations
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2013, 07:31:54 PM »
From what I've seen experimenting with orbital habitat space stations carrying recreational facilities, they do NOT need to be in orbit for the rec facility to work.   

SM a .   1 month deployment station and tell it to move somewhere.    It will not suffer morale penalties.    There is a towing-related bug with such stations that I have posted in the bug-report thread and will copy here.   

Quote
Minor irritant of a bug that's probably been lurking for years: I have some engine-less military orbital habitats, and if the original suffers a maintenance failure while another one is being towed somewhere, the towed one reports that it has slowed due to damage and shifts only itself to a new task group, but it's still attached to the ship towing it.   

Simply moving it back into the original task group fixes it, but it does cause unnecessary micromanagement.   

Should probably test to see if the orbital habitat will still be towed despite being in a different task group.    .    .   
« Last Edit: August 21, 2013, 07:34:18 PM by HartLord »
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55