Author Topic: Weight for items?  (Read 426 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline star_wyvern

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • s
  • Posts: 8
Weight for items?
« on: November 29, 2017, 06:59:49 AM »
Is there somewhere that tells you the weight of an item (Mass Driver, Automated mine etc)? So you know how to build your freighter? I'm sure there probably is and I'm just missing it.
 

Online Barkhorn

  • Captain
  • **********
  • B
  • Posts: 492
  • Thanked: 60 times
Re: Weight for items?
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2017, 10:39:40 AM »
I don't know if there is list somewhere, but from experience most installations are 25,000 tons.  I think one might be 125,000 tons.
 

Offline vorpal+5

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • v
  • Posts: 122
Re: Weight for items?
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2017, 10:47:13 AM »
Always have freighters in increment of 25.000 tons capacity.

Mines, factories, 25.000, but others like Ground Training Facility or lab: 500.000
 

Online Barkhorn

  • Captain
  • **********
  • B
  • Posts: 492
  • Thanked: 60 times
Re: Weight for items?
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2017, 10:57:05 AM »
Installations don't have to be transferred in one go, though.  So if a building is 500,000 tons, but your freighter can only carry 50,000, you can still move the building.  It'll just take 10 trips.

Be careful about having civilians move big installations, I have occasionally had them lose pieces of them so I end up with something like 25.4 research labs on the moon.
 

Offline Paul M

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • P
  • Posts: 1270
  • Thanked: 22 times
Re: Weight for items?
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2017, 11:29:25 AM »
The Wiki has a list of the various installations and their size.
 

Offline obsidian_green

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • o
  • Posts: 149
  • Thanked: 20 times
Re: Weight for items?
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2017, 05:58:23 PM »
Non-installation items: minerals occupy cargo hold space at 2x their weight and---what I never found on the wiki or in searches---components occupy hold space at 5x their weight.
 

Offline star_wyvern

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • s
  • Posts: 8
Re: Weight for items?
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2017, 05:56:25 PM »
What is my original shipyard? Is it commercial or military? Is there a way to tell? Sorry for the newb questions! Thanks for all the replies though.  I will start making ships with 25,000 capacity as soon as I can.  I would like to start putting auto mines and mass drivers on a couple of planets.
 

Offline Garfunkel

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 994
  • Thanked: 72 times
Re: Weight for items?
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2017, 06:54:44 PM »
It says either C or N in the window where you see all of your shipyards on a planet.
 
The following users thanked this post: star_wyvern

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54