Author Topic: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread  (Read 13760 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Froggiest1982

  • Gold Supporter
  • Vice Admiral
  • *****
  • F
  • Posts: 1246
  • Thanked: 506 times
  • Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    2023 Supporter 2023 Supporter : Donate for 2023
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #120 on: December 30, 2022, 07:32:45 PM »
For each increment, I have several of the following errors: Function #1954, Function #1943, Function #478

It happens when raiders appear.

I have attached the Save.

Offline MaxKaladin

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • M
  • Posts: 14
  • Thanked: 4 times
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #121 on: January 02, 2023, 12:22:48 AM »
I'd like to add my weight to the Local System Generation issue.  I've had several abandoned starts (with maybe 10-20 stars) under 2.1.1 and two games that went to 81 stars discovered and 110 (my current game).  No loops in any of them.  This is 2.1.1 with Known Stars and the default settings for Local System Generation (I didn't change them since the game says the settings don't work for Known Stars).  I also did an experiment in the 81 star game similar to the one described earlier.  In that game, I had Alpha Centauri and Proxima Centauri discovered along with Sol and a couple of dozen other stars near Sol.  I saved the game, quit Aurora, started again, turned on SM and generated several jump points in both systems then explored them trying to loop back to Sol or one of the other systems near Sol.  I repeated this dozens of times without success. 

I posted about this on the discord and others there had noticed the issue and a couple of people mentioned doing their own experiments with similar results. 

I know people have said that loops are rare with Known Stars but I did see them in 1.x games.  Just not a single one in 2.1.1.   
 
The following users thanked this post: Vandermeer, Ragnarsson

Offline Kiero

  • Bronze Supporter
  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • *****
  • Posts: 103
  • Thanked: 56 times
  • Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter : Support the forums with a Bronze subscription
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    2023 Supporter 2023 Supporter : Donate for 2023
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #122 on: January 22, 2023, 06:09:29 AM »
For a long time, I was stuck on 5h turn.
After some investigation in the database I've found that one of the NPR set up a supply of automines that were not present on their homeworld and the "pickup failed" order was interrupting the game.
 
The following users thanked this post: Gabrote42, nuclearslurpee

Offline StarshipCactus

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • S
  • Posts: 212
  • Thanked: 61 times
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #123 on: January 23, 2023, 02:06:22 AM »
For a long time, I was stuck on 5h turn.
After some investigation in the database I've found that one of the NPR set up a supply of automines that were not present on their homeworld and the "pickup failed" order was interrupting the game.
That sort of thing seems like it could be in the SM event list. It would be very helpful for people who are less good with the DB to have that pointed out so they can find it and sort it more easily.
 
The following users thanked this post: Vastrat, Gabrote42, nuclearslurpee

Offline Alphard

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • A
  • Posts: 4
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #124 on: Yesterday at 01:34:40 PM »
https://i.    imgur.    com/TICq8yN.   png

"2. 1. 1 Function #917: Value was either too large or too small for an Int32. "

Occurred when setting a civilian contract to move automines to C/2017 K2, which is quite a far distance away from Earth actually.     This appears thousands of times and renders the game unplayable, forcing deletion of the game.     Actually, since the default behavior is to load your most recent game, I had to reinstall the entire game.     I couldn't stomach going through 4,000 message box prompts to see if there was a way to fix this.   

I think it is probably some type of check that is failing due to overflow because of the huge distance involved.   
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 01:36:12 PM by Alphard »
 

Offline verraka

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • v
  • Posts: 1
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #125 on: Yesterday at 08:31:38 PM »
Quote from: Froggiest1982 link=topic=13078.    msg163470#msg163470 date=1672450365
For each increment, I have several of the following errors: Function #1954, Function #1943, Function #478

It happens when raiders appear.   

I have attached the Save.   

I have a similiar-ish issue to the quoted reply.    I only have star swarm and NPRs enabled however, no raiders.    When I attempt to advance time I get the same three function number errors as they do and it states "Object reference not set to an instance of an object. " after each function number.     Unlike, the above poster I am unable to progress past them as they continually reappear in a loop.     After I close one error message the next will pop up.     The errors pop back up again after I clear them, forcing me to force close aurora with the task manager.     I tried just spam clicking through the errors but if there is an end to them I can't reach it lol.   

This was a conventional start, with random stars, decimal separator is a period, year is only 2082.     I made backups, edited the DB to let me control the NPRs, and attempted to go through the NPRs to see if they were causing the issue.     I did see issues with fuel shortages and impossible civilian fleet pickups in the NPRs, so I deleted the offending fleets and civilian lines.     This seemed to allow me to progress for a few more days, but then the cycling errors returned.     

Earlier in this game I had gotten a singular error message with the same text about "Object reference not set to an instance of an object.    ", but was able to just click okay and continue the game.     This happened maybe 3-5 times spaced out by years before I hit this impassable wall of the three error messages cycling.     

I've attached the DB file.   

« Last Edit: Yesterday at 08:39:50 PM by verraka »