Author Topic: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread  (Read 16646 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nuclearslurpee

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 2371
  • Thanked: 1771 times
  • Radioactive frozen beverage.
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #135 on: March 16, 2023, 09:07:58 AM »
There seems to be something wrong with the calculations for fleets meeting up.
To reproduce do the following: Have a fleet(F1) following another fleet(F2) and then you give a 3rd fleet(F3) the order to join F1.

I think the issue is that the speed of F1 in this case is the fleets max speed and not the speed for F2 which it is following. In my case F2 is a lot slower then F1 and F2 and F3 have the same speed.
So it seems like its calculating the meeting point to be somewhere very far ahead.
See attached screenshot for an example.

Edit:
It looks like it sort of fixes itself once F3 gets in front of F1, it will then turn back around to join F1. So its mayube not as big of a problem as I first thought. It just mens the fleet thats trying to join will make a sort of swing around the fleet its joining insted of heading straight for it. and so will use quite a bit more time then it maybe could have.

It's not so much a bug as the calculation is a bit screwy. Basically it only looks at the heading and speed of the destination fleet and computes an intercept based on that - the game doesn't try to follow the rabbit hole of the destination fleet's orders to make a more accurate prediction, which is probably fair as I imagine Steve would tell you this way lies bugs and disappointments as he usually does when the orders list is involved.  ;)
 
The following users thanked this post: punchkid

Offline boolybooly

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 138
  • Thanked: 69 times
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #136 on: March 17, 2023, 10:21:17 AM »
if you set a waypoint at a planet and launch a probe (i.e. a missile with active sensor operating in flight not a buoy), to the waypoint, the waypoint orbits with the planet and the probe hits, stays with the planet a few days and vanishes as expected

if you delete the waypoint, the probe stops orbiting with the planet and stops dead in space which is unexpected, I would expect it to stay in orbit like buoys

Code: (Example Probe) [Select]
Missile Size: 1 MSP  (2.5 Tons)     Warhead: 0    Radiation Damage: 0    Manoeuvre Rating: 10
Speed: 3,200 km/s     Fuel: 100     Flight Time: 1,305 hours     Range: 15,037.7m km
Active Sensor Strength: 0.29   EM Sensitivity Modifier: 11
Resolution: 10    Maximum Range vs 500 ton object (or larger): 2,170,967 km
Cost Per Missile: 0.484     Development Cost: 110
Chance to Hit: 1k km/s 32.0%   3k km/s 10.7%   5k km/s 6.4%   10k km/s 3.2%
 

Offline LiquidGold2

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • L
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanked: 9 times
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #137 on: March 17, 2023, 04:39:38 PM »
I started a new 2. 1. 1 game a few days ago with mostly default setting, and so far everything has been normal.  But as I was grav surveying one of the initial Sol-connected systems, I noticed I was seeing 2,3,4 "new jump point" messages in a single time interval.  There were multiple ships working in there though, so I thought nothing of it.  But then it happened again.  And then again.  And again.  I looked closer: single ships were finding multiple JPs at once.
At present, there are 26 unexplored JPs in the Cyclops system.  Of the 30 Survey locations, 18 of them have been surveyed.

This has to be a bug, right? Save file is attached. 
 

Offline nuclearslurpee

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 2371
  • Thanked: 1771 times
  • Radioactive frozen beverage.
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #138 on: March 17, 2023, 08:04:38 PM »
I started a new 2. 1. 1 game a few days ago with mostly default setting, and so far everything has been normal.  But as I was grav surveying one of the initial Sol-connected systems, I noticed I was seeing 2,3,4 "new jump point" messages in a single time interval.  There were multiple ships working in there though, so I thought nothing of it.  But then it happened again.  And then again.  And again.  I looked closer: single ships were finding multiple JPs at once.
At present, there are 26 unexplored JPs in the Cyclops system.  Of the 30 Survey locations, 18 of them have been surveyed.

This has to be a bug, right? Save file is attached.

The system in question appears to be a black hole (according to the DB; I've examined it but not loaded it up in-game). Black holes, per Steve:
Black holes with a mass of 20 or more gain a fixed number of additional jump points, with that number depending on mass. This is in addition to the higher chance of jump points associated with massive stars.

Their main game impact will be the creation of systems that are hard to survey but generally have more jump points.

The listed mass in the DB is 60, so I assume it is capable of generating quite a massive number of jump points indeed! Not a bug, though.
 
The following users thanked this post: LiquidGold2

Offline LiquidGold2

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • L
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanked: 9 times
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #139 on: March 17, 2023, 09:00:27 PM »
I started a new 2. 1. 1 game a few days ago with mostly default setting, and so far everything has been normal.  But as I was grav surveying one of the initial Sol-connected systems, I noticed I was seeing 2,3,4 "new jump point" messages in a single time interval.  There were multiple ships working in there though, so I thought nothing of it.  But then it happened again.  And then again.  And again.  I looked closer: single ships were finding multiple JPs at once.
At present, there are 26 unexplored JPs in the Cyclops system.  Of the 30 Survey locations, 18 of them have been surveyed.

This has to be a bug, right? Save file is attached.

The system in question appears to be a black hole (according to the DB; I've examined it but not loaded it up in-game). Black holes, per Steve:
Black holes with a mass of 20 or more gain a fixed number of additional jump points, with that number depending on mass. This is in addition to the higher chance of jump points associated with massive stars.

Their main game impact will be the creation of systems that are hard to survey but generally have more jump points.

The listed mass in the DB is 60, so I assume it is capable of generating quite a massive number of jump points indeed! Not a bug, though.

I think you might be right. This is my first time seeing one pop up; I'd forgotten they were a thing. Thanks.
 

Offline boolybooly

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 138
  • Thanked: 69 times
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #140 on: March 20, 2023, 07:09:25 AM »
When a ship joins a fleet or sub-fleet of a fleet which is set to travel below maximum speed, the fleet reverts to maximum speed.

Expected behaviour would be the fleet joining adopts the speed orders for the fleet it is joining.

e.g. I set a sensors ship fleet also containing a tanker and FAC subfleets to follow LP1 at 18 km/s because this is about the average speed of the planet it is following. I want to keep LP1 in sensors range because I am using a Raider scout wreck on the other side of a long jump to LP2, following an orbit around the second star of a binary system, as bait to lure a raider salvage fleet and cull the predators. This LP represents a system choke point they will need to use. When a reinforcement FAC joins the FAC subfleet of the sensor fleet, the speed of the fleet immediately jumps from 18 to 4508 which is the maximum fleet speed. This is because while the "use maximum speed" box is unchecked the set speed has reverted to maximum for the sensors ship which is currently the core ship of the fleet.

It also does this, i.e. resets max speed, if you (manually detach and) manually add ships to the fleet in the same location.
 
The following users thanked this post: Snoman314, nuclearslurpee

Offline LiquidGold2

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • L
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanked: 9 times
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #141 on: March 20, 2023, 02:15:55 PM »
When a ship joins a fleet or sub-fleet of a fleet which is set to travel below maximum speed, the fleet reverts to maximum speed.
[...]
It also does this, i.e. resets max speed, if you (manually detach and) manually add ships to the fleet in the same location.

Relatedly, a fleet with less than max speed set will reset to max speed after overhauling. This has been especially annoying when trying to tune escorted tanker speeds (sidenote, it would be great to have an order equivalent to "Load All Minerals Until Full" for fuel).
 

Offline Laurence

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • L
  • Posts: 90
  • Thanked: 9 times
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #142 on: Yesterday at 02:35:11 PM »
I'd like to add my weight to the Local System Generation issue.

Me as well... Two different games with Known Stars not seeing any loops with ~100 systems explored in each. In one, I had two starting NPRs set for 25-50 LY distance, haven't seen them.  Two discovered NPRs doing their own exploring that I can't see, but no reconnections to my areas.

Did a quick test with these settings (does the max number of systems/local chance even matter for Known Stars)?
Max Systems 10
Local Chance 100%
Local Spread 5
No NPRs

Attaching screenshots of some of the settings, plus the map I got using SM to explore.
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 02:38:21 PM by Laurence »
 

Offline hammer58

  • Petty Officer
  • **
  • h
  • Posts: 21
  • Thanked: 1 times
Re: v2.1.1 Bugs Thread
« Reply #143 on: Yesterday at 04:33:24 PM »
Not sure if this has been reported yet? When a jump point stabilization module is combined with a tractor beam on the same ship, the ship will not do the jump point stabilize function.
Is this intentional?