Author Topic: Steve’s magic tonnage algorithm  (Read 405 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline undercovergeek (OP)

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • u
  • Posts: 128
  • Thanked: 4 times
Steve’s magic tonnage algorithm
« on: February 27, 2024, 04:44:16 AM »
I’m using a couple of the experts AARs to scour good ship design and have come across Steve’s Havock class destroyers

I’ve pretty much duplicated his design but I’m coming in at 6600 tonnes and Steve’s is 1000 - does Steve have magic weight skills for testing or have I gone very wrong?
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Star Marshal
  • S
  • Posts: 11665
  • Thanked: 20421 times
Re: Steve’s magic tonnage algorithm
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2024, 05:13:22 AM »
Are you using box launchers (15% of normal size) ?
 

Offline undercovergeek (OP)

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • u
  • Posts: 128
  • Thanked: 4 times
Re: Steve’s magic tonnage algorithm
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2024, 05:48:43 AM »
Ah - no - I’ll rework them

Thanks
 

Offline undercovergeek (OP)

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • u
  • Posts: 128
  • Thanked: 4 times
Re: Steve’s magic tonnage algorithm
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2024, 05:58:00 AM »
Are you using box launchers (15% of normal size) ?

Can box launchers use magazines to reload?
 

Online Andrew

  • Registered
  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 694
  • Thanked: 123 times
Re: Steve’s magic tonnage algorithm
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2024, 06:55:27 AM »
No. Planet with maintenance facilities or a hanger
 
The following users thanked this post: undercovergeek

Offline undercovergeek (OP)

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • u
  • Posts: 128
  • Thanked: 4 times
Re: Steve’s magic tonnage algorithm
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2024, 07:13:59 AM »
No. Planet with maintenance facilities or a hanger

on that note i have built a magazine to your specifications and asked the destroyers to reload at Earth but they are only reloading the launchers - not the magazine - is there a different order to reload the entire ship?

Edit - scrap that - needed to increase the ordnance default in ship design!
« Last Edit: February 27, 2024, 07:16:34 AM by undercovergeek »