Author Topic: Official v7.10 Bugs Reporting Thread  (Read 94318 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kyle

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • K
  • Posts: 108
  • Thanked: 270 times
  • Quasar4x dev
Re: Official v7.10 Bugs Reporting Thread
« Reply #915 on: August 01, 2019, 01:57:31 PM »
Just a display bug but:



The correct morale (what's stored in the db) is 89%.  It's lower than 100% due to survivor overcrowding.
 

Offline Kyle

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • K
  • Posts: 108
  • Thanked: 270 times
  • Quasar4x dev
Re: Official v7.10 Bugs Reporting Thread
« Reply #916 on: August 01, 2019, 02:04:30 PM »
Just curious, given that VB6 is no longer getting updates (right?), how useful is it to even report bugs here?  Does any of the stuff reported in the last couple pages help with the C# development?
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Star Marshal
  • S
  • Posts: 7925
  • Thanked: 4320 times
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Official v7.10 Bugs Reporting Thread
« Reply #917 on: August 01, 2019, 03:06:55 PM »
Just curious, given that VB6 is no longer getting updates (right?), how useful is it to even report bugs here?  Does any of the stuff reported in the last couple pages help with the C# development?

C# is entirely new code so bugs caused by coding errors should be fixed (and possibly new ones created). Bugs caused by logic errors might still exist. So its worth posting the bugs just in case.
 

Offline TMaekler

  • Captain
  • **********
  • Posts: 492
  • Thanked: 70 times
Re: Official v7.10 Bugs Reporting Thread
« Reply #918 on: August 02, 2019, 06:40:14 AM »
Just curious, given that VB6 is no longer getting updates (right?), how useful is it to even report bugs here?  Does any of the stuff reported in the last couple pages help with the C# development?
There is also a clone reprogramming in progress (Quasar 4x), which will be a one on one copy of V7.1 (just lot quicker); so also good to find these bugs so they don't transfer to Q4x.
 

Offline amram

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • ***
  • a
  • Posts: 45
  • Thanked: 31 times
Re: Official v7.10 Bugs Reporting Thread
« Reply #919 on: August 02, 2019, 05:41:02 PM »
^^ they (Kyle) are the author of quasar4x, lol

Of course, that changes nothing about how useful further reports are.

Having bugs reported lowers the chance they will make it to c#, since it either alerts Steve to a newly discovered bug, or reminds him of an old one.

It lowers the chance clones reproduce the bug by alerting them to it as well.  Escpecially relevant to Kyle's approach with Quasar4x, mimicking Aurora so closely means inevitably finding and perhaps implementing the bugs as well.

It also benefits us players by making us aware of what is not quite right, since these bugs are for the latest version of aurora we have at current.

Its not my call, but if it were mine, I wouldn't stop them for those reasons alone.  Even for a long dead version, they have merit imo - its astonishing what we sometimes don't see when we look at code without a specific context to frame it with - having it pointed out has no doubt stopped one or more from making the leap to c# already.
 
The following users thanked this post: TMaekler, Kyle

Offline SpikeTheHobbitMage

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • S
  • Posts: 123
  • Thanked: 14 times
Re: Official v7.10 Bugs Reporting Thread
« Reply #920 on: August 02, 2019, 06:17:50 PM »
Unless I'm misunderstanding how hangar space works, it seems like you can land as many ships as you want on a mothership regardless of hangar size.  (Method: 1 TG of many parasites, target a second TG containing the mothership assigned to all these parasites, and tell the parasite TG to Land On Assigned Mothership)

You can certainly issue that order, but it shouldn't work the way you're suggesting.  The mother will land as many parasites (in order of initiative) as it can hold, then throw an error about being unable to complete the order.  Also, trying to assign more parasites to a mothership than it can hold should give an error.
There is no error assigning more parasites, but actually attempting to land them fails as you describe.  In my current game I assigned and landed a critically damaged 9.7kt ship on my 10kt capacity carrier for emergency field repairs.  It worked perfectly, but I had to launch my fighters first.
Here's the bug in action
Bug confirmed.

Further testing shows that a mixed size fleet can have some ships land and others fail due to insufficient space.  What appears to be happening is that each ship in the landing group checks for enough space individually and then any that passed the check land together regardless of actual available space.

Release/Recover buttons work correctly.
 

Offline Stryker

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • S
  • Posts: 5
  • Thanked: 2 times
Leadership filter bug
« Reply #921 on: August 04, 2019, 12:34:37 AM »
On the lower right hand corner of the leadership tab there are multiple filters for finding the leader you want to use.   Currently, v7. 1, the secondary ability filter is inclusive and should be exclusive.

For example:  I wish to find an admin.  with both factory and mining skills.   I put factory as primary and mining as secondary.   The list that I will then be given includes all admins.  with factory, mining and factory + mining.

The secondary filter should exclude all admins.  from the primary ability filtered list (factory) who do not have the mining ability, rather than including all admins.  from the basic list that have mining.
 

Offline Kyle

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • K
  • Posts: 108
  • Thanked: 270 times
  • Quasar4x dev
Re: Official v7.10 Bugs Reporting Thread
« Reply #922 on: August 06, 2019, 02:27:56 PM »
The "Resupply from own Supply Ships" fleet order increases supplies on your supply ships instead of decreasing them. 

So, as long as you have a supply ship in your fleet, you never have to run out of supplies.

This might be related to this older bug.
 

Offline Kyle

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • K
  • Posts: 108
  • Thanked: 270 times
  • Quasar4x dev
Re: Official v7.10 Bugs Reporting Thread
« Reply #923 on: October 04, 2019, 10:12:56 AM »
The more slipways a shipyard has, the faster it takes to retool the shipyard, even though the BP cost increases.

For example, if it costs 171 to retool a 1-slipway shipyard with 1680 mod rate on 25th Oct, it completes on the 1st Dec.
If I change the number of slipways to 2, it costs 228.1 as expected, but completes on 19th Nov.
If I change the number of slipways to 4, it costs 342.1 as expected, but completes on 13th Nov.

It doesn't just predict these dates, it actually retools this fast.  I suspect the # of slipways is being divided out to simulate parallelism, but parallelism is already built into the build cost.
 

Offline Xenotrenium

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • X
  • Posts: 6
  • Thanked: 1 times
Re: Official v7.10 Bugs Reporting Thread
« Reply #924 on: October 10, 2019, 10:20:25 PM »
Moving PDCs as parasites Last version of aurora, no edits, fresh install

Using the naval organization window in the Task Groups window, I made pdcs into parasites of a ship with a hangar.  Landing the branch etc works and they are now part of the TG.
"No orders possible for task groups with PDCs" show up and prevents any new orders being given.
By simply removing the parasites in question, making an order and then reassigning the pdc parasites, one is able to transfer the pdcs around, including depositing the pdcs in the dead of space.
 
The following users thanked this post: Kyle

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55